Orange Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake was excellent! I wanted to layer this cake so I did have to make a couple changes to make that happen. I decreased the water in the gelatin pour-over. There were comments about the cake being wet and I didn't want it too wet to layer. I did let it refrigerate overnight - this is definitely a cake to serve cold! I also changed up the frosting a little. I added a package of cream cheese to the pudding mix and spread it between the layers of cake before I added the whipped topping. Since I added the cream cheese, I really didn't need the whole carton. I had many positive comments and requests for the recipe. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! Had some frosting left so we dipped fresh strawberries in it...yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This cake definitely needs 24 hours to set up. If you follow the directions as is, the cake is way too mushy. I used this recipe as a substitute for my original creamsicle cake recipe because I misplaced it. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
The cake was very good if you like orange creamsicles. I didn't like at first, tying it after I refrigerated it for 2 hours. It was too wet and almost mushy. The next morning it was just right after setting up a bit. It was moist and fluffy. So if you can, wait over night to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
this cake is amazing. i did not use the jello liquid as i made cupcakes and they were wonderful. the frosting is great, but not for cupcakes so i just added two batches of orange cream cheese frosting (found here on allrecipes) to one for a thicker frosting that would stay on the cupcake. i made this for my 200 person weekly meal and they DEVOURED them. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I love this cake!!! I have even switched the jello flavors to add my own twist delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made this cake years ago when I first saw the recipe. It is absolutely WONDERFUL!! I made it for dessert when my cousin and her hubby came to dinner for the first time. They raved about the cake, as did my Hubby who isn't really into sweets. I kept the recipe and have used it over and over again through the years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaPam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Easy to make and tastes delicious, very much like a Dreamsicle. This was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
turned out perfect. If you need a easy cake in a pinch just use the lemon cake with the jello mix and top with cool whip. You may also use white cake mix with strawberry. Tastes are good for a summer time BBQ or 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon D 36

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
it was way too sweet! the topping was good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good cake. Nice orange flavor, light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States