Orange Cream Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
DELICIOUS! I made this for a family cookout and this cake was gone in 5 minutes.... it was so good that I had to make it again for the next family gathering. I feel like this dessert is more appropriate in the summer..... I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is quick and very Yummy. I have made it many times with no complaints. Finding orange cake mix in Pennsylvania is the hardest part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Very delicious cake. Made it for my sister's birthday. I actually split it into two 9x13 to make it a layered rectangle cake but it worked great. Popular and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I read the previous reviews about how you can use white cake since orange cake is hard to find and many people commented on how the frosting was runny. So I used white cake instead of the orange and added orange juice instead of the milk, as one reviewer suggested. I still used the orange extract in the cake, but made a completely different frosting. I used a cream cheese frosting from this site and added a little bit more vanilla and powdered sugar than it called for to bring out the vanilla and have a good contrast between the orange and vanilla. After frosting the cupcakes, I put an orange slice gummy on each (as another reviewer had done). These were sooooooo good and everyone at our BBQ loved them. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a great cake with a few adjustments. To the CAKE MIX, use ORANGE JUICE instead of MILK and ADD one small box ORANGE GELATIN. (using juice makes a lighter batter, but using milk is great if you prefer a more dense cake. Both methods are good) Reduce Orange Extract to 1 tsp. in cake. FOR ICING, instead of sour cream, I use CREAM CHEESE and replace the orange extract in the frosting with vanilla. This creates a dramatic taste difference for the orange-vanilla taste in Dreamsicles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julesbai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Wow! I made an orange dreamsicle cake many years ago and could not find the recipe anywhere (all I remember is it had sour cream). I made this one for a family get-together, then for a work potluck, then for my boyfriend's work potluck, then again for my daughter... It is fantastic. The only mention I will make, do not substitute the orange cake with lemon. It loses the orange flavor that way. I also tried it with fresh-made whipped cream and that came out really well. Kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I just made this cake and with a few adjustments it was perfect. It really tastes like a cream sickle you just got off the ice cream truck. The things changed are: I doubled the amount of extract in both the cake and icing (add to taste), I also added non-flavored gelatin (1 - 2 pkgs) in the icing (icing is a little thin), added food coloring to the icing to make it the color of the orange of a cream sickle and I used a white cake mix. It was perfect!! The icing is a little thin, even after setting, without the gelatin. I love the icing because it is not a real sweet icing. My daughter and I usually share a piece of cake, I eat the cake and she eats the icing. There will be NO SHARING TODAY. lol For an added twist I made a coconut cream version of this as well by: where ever it says water/milk I used coconut milk (canned of course, I'll try fresh next time, lol) and I used coconut extract (still doubling of course), as well as the gelatin, top with coconut and this is a coconut cake to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love this CAKE...Every easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This cake is delicious! I had a hard time finding Orange Cake mix, so I got Lemon Cake mix and added Orange Flavoring and About 8 drops of re food coloring to the batter and mixed very well. The yellow of the cake mix and the eggs are enough yellow to make orange colored cake. I also added cleared sugar sprinkles all over the frosted cake to give sparkle and texture. Definitely a hit! Oh, I almost forgot! I put Mandarine orange slice between the layers with the frosting. It gives it an added layer of cool deliciousness! Also, I read some of the other reviews and I am not sure what went wrong with some of the other cakes. I have made this recipe four times at my Dietary dept at work, and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States