Orange Cream Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
*** Addendum: Ooops, We DID use WHITE Cake mix instead of Orange! We made this cake yesterday (over the July 4th holiday weekend) and it was FABULOUS!! We had a large family gathering and this cake was loved by all! I wanted to make something that my young daughter could help to prepare and feel proud of. It turns out this was a great choice. The recipe was very easy. We used Sugar Free Orange Jello and Sugar Free Vanilla Pudding (You couldn't tell ANY difference in the taste), and regular Cool Whip. The cake was very light, cool and not too sweet.... Overall, it came out perfect and was extremely delicious! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Awesome! I used the white cake mix as other reviewers had suggested. Everyone said it tasted like a dreamsicle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYMEPOOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We enjoyed this cake. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was refreshing and a nice summer cake. I did think it was a bit on the sweet side. Next time I would try it with a white cake rather than the orange cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this for my husband's birthday. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow. After I dissolved the jello in the hot water, I used cold orange soda in place of the cold water. I left the "frosting" just as is, with the whipped topping, milk and instant vanilla pudding. I wanted it to be more like a Dreamsicle, instead of all orange. I studded the top with mandarin oranges. It was a hit. And just like I remember Dreamsicles. Very good, light summer dessert. I plan on making this for future BBQ get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Bought some orange cake mix just because it looked interesting and I found this recipe. Made if for Mother's Day, and then I had to make it for Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, and now Easter. The only thing I've changed from the recipe is to add mandarin orange segments for looks and to cut down a little on the sweetness. Orange cake mix is so hard to find that I bought several boxes and am freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I used fat free coolwhip and sugar free jello and pudding to cut out some of the sugar. I also added extra jello to the whipped topping to give it more color and flavor. Also, I tried this recipe out using strawberry cake & jello, and it was excellent! Lemon was okay, and I am trying pineapple soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Try use white cake mix with pudding instead of orange cake mix. It tastes like a creamsicle.For presentation I placed manderin oranges on each slice. My family & friends love it. We call it creamsicle cake. This is so Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Exactly what i expected- an easy every day sort of cake. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Wonderful on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I really did not like this , and neither did my guests , waste of time making it.Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States