Orange Cranberry Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious! Easy! Low-fat! I used only about 2/3rds of the butter called for, and it was just as delicious! Soft and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Mine looked nothing like the picture, they turned out flat and chewy, not cakey at all. I have no idea why but they were still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are great! Good for something fresh and different. We added some chocolate chips with the cranberries and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Delicious! Like like tasty cakes... add a glaze and they will melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a really great cookie recipe. I made it for the first time along with other traditional cookies, candies, and bars. But this cookie is the one that everyone keeps asking for more of! It is so chewy and flavorful. We used the fresh squeezed juice from the orange we grated and it was so good! I definitely agree with the suggestion to press some of the dried cranberries on time. I really think they add something to the overall appearance/taste of the cookie. WARNING: These cookies will go fast! I went through 6 dozen in week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
... I wasn't too thrilled about these. Neither was my guinea pig (hubby). I wanted something different to add to my array of Holiday cookies, and this one I found to be more of an everyday cookie. Not very festive in taste or appearance. These cookies are light and airy so I can see why some others have said they were indeed cake-like. My sister liked them, but I thought these weren't good enough to add to my cookie swap recipes. The orange flavor was barely noticeable although I added the zest of 2 large navel oranges (in leiu of the orange extract), orange-flavored Craisins and the orange juice specified. These seemed more suitable for a brunch or teatime treat, but then again, they weren't that impressive or memorable. Okay, I'm venting... perhaps I'm a bit than disappointed. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made these cookies for my family's "Christmas Cookie Bake Night" and everyone loved them! They are soft and moist and really tasty! We didnt' have orange extract so I used lemon extract, which gave them a great zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Gayton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I did not change the recipe and my cookies came out flat. I use no salt butter and measure all ingredients accurately. I use stoneware and use parchment paper so I can remove the cookies easily. I rechecked all my ingredients and nothing was omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Overall this is a good cookie. The only alteration I made was not to use orange essence as I didn't have any. I added a bit more zest instead. I didn't not find these overly sweet at all and I didn't mind the "cakiness". What I didn't like were the dried cranberries. It might have been because I could only find sweetened dried cranberries but there was no cranberry taste (that tart/sour taste). I think you could easily sub fresh cranberries (because of the cakiness). Also these cookies are very plain and would be great with an orange flavoured icing. I did add some coloured sugar to mine to make them more festive. Will make again but with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made these yesterday for the first (but definitely not the last) time yesterday, following the recipe exactly. These tasty little morsels are a great change of pace from so many of the typical holiday cookies - the tang of the orange and cranberry combination is wonderful with a good cup of coffee. I did get the recipe yield of 36, but they were quite small. Next time I'll do a double batch and increase the size of cookies a bit. I used regular Craisins but next time will try this with the orange-flavored ones. Overall, a real hit with my husband and me. Will definitely make these a holiday cookie try tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States