Orange Cornish Hen for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Tried this for the first time for company and it was a success. So simple, classic and tasty. The only changes I made to the recipe included adding a bit more pepper due to personal preferences and lowering the temperature to 350 degrees F for the last 30 - 40 minutes. Served this with Basmati rice and glazed carrots....Very tender and tasty and great for company....I forgot to mention I did make this for 4 people so I adjusted the ingredients accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I made as is, except I made 2 hens, so doubled everything. I also cooked about 10 minutes more than stated since I had 2 hens and it was perfect. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Made this, did not change a thing, loved it.We use to make cornish hens years ago,they were never this tasty.Thanks misty for posting this.It is a keeper.Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just started cooking and made cornish hens for the first time last week. The only thing I did differently was to use a Bruschetta Chicken spice rub on the hens during the initial roasting step then the orange glaze to baste. This recipe was such a huge success that my husband actually told me that after 10 years he couldn't talk smack about my cooking anymore! lol =) p.s. I also used the same orange glaze on some freshly caught red snapper and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Hi, I tried this recipe the other night for supper, and I am always looking for new ways to "dress up" chicken,and this was highly recommended and I am so glad that I tried it, here is what I liked about it: it was simple but a bit elegant and the chicken was very moist and really tasty, it was a bit different then the normal ways you do up chicken and that is what i loved about it! I think it is worth everyone trying it and i think you will be pleasantly Surprised with the results!! Thank you misty for posting this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A flavorful treat; the glaze gives a beautiful orange color to the final dish and an impressive presentation for a special dinner. I cooked at a lower temp as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was great! I cooked four birds instead of just two because we were having this for Christmas dinner with relatives. I cut some onions and carrots into chunks and threw them into the bottom of the pan before putting the birds in. Then I threw some fresh thyme and rosemary in. All of that helps the birds to keep moist and makes it very aromatic. I cooked at a lower temperature of 350 degrees for 3/4 of the cooking...I upped the temp to 400 for the last 20 or 30 minutes to brown the birds. The first 30 minutes I put foil over them, and then took it off for the basting portion of the cooking. I paired these birds with the "Moroccan Cous Cous" recipe which is on this site, and included a side of green beans to make a delicious and beautiful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everything turned out beautiful, just didnt care for the flavor so probally wouldnt make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for a special dinner during the Thanksgiving holiday and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to make the recipe for six people. Made a beautiful presentation and a delicious, memorable meal. Thanks Misty for sharing - it is a keeper and will be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Roxy's
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
These two Cornish hens came out great. the only thing I added to the sauce was a little bit of Frank's hot sauce it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States