Orange Cornish Hen for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I love the simplicity of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really simple sauce to make. I did make a couple of changes to accommodate what I had in the house without having to make yet another trip to the grocery store. I made 3 hens and if you double the recipe you should still have plenty of marinade. I didn't have orange concentrate, but I do have oranges trees. I squeezed oranges till I had the same amount of juice to equal the concentrate I substituted. I used honey that has oranges cloves in it. After combining all the ingredients I found the sauce a bit thin. I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to a little bit of milk and thickened the sauce perfectly. No change of taste at all. I used the rotisserie to cook the hens rather than bake in the oven. The comments I got were"you made an outstanding meal". And this was the best games hens I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I loved this...sent it out on facebook...my sauce just didn't make a glaze like I thought would be....juice, ketchup and honey...it was thick more like sauce....but was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything !!! This is delicious !!!!i I have made it for a Church fellowship, and everyone loved loved loved it. Thank You for sharing this recipe ! May The Lord richly Bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxy's
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
These two Cornish hens came out great. the only thing I added to the sauce was a little bit of Frank's hot sauce it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A flavorful treat; the glaze gives a beautiful orange color to the final dish and an impressive presentation for a special dinner. I cooked at a lower temp as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommasitaB
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My whole family enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was great! I cooked four birds instead of just two because we were having this for Christmas dinner with relatives. I cut some onions and carrots into chunks and threw them into the bottom of the pan before putting the birds in. Then I threw some fresh thyme and rosemary in. All of that helps the birds to keep moist and makes it very aromatic. I cooked at a lower temperature of 350 degrees for 3/4 of the cooking...I upped the temp to 400 for the last 20 or 30 minutes to brown the birds. The first 30 minutes I put foil over them, and then took it off for the basting portion of the cooking. I paired these birds with the "Moroccan Cous Cous" recipe which is on this site, and included a side of green beans to make a delicious and beautiful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Super good! The bird came out juicy and the orange glaze was simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States