Orange Cornish Hen for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Tried this for the first time for company and it was a success. So simple, classic and tasty. The only changes I made to the recipe included adding a bit more pepper due to personal preferences and lowering the temperature to 350 degrees F for the last 30 - 40 minutes. Served this with Basmati rice and glazed carrots....Very tender and tasty and great for company....I forgot to mention I did make this for 4 people so I adjusted the ingredients accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I made as is, except I made 2 hens, so doubled everything. I also cooked about 10 minutes more than stated since I had 2 hens and it was perfect. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Made this, did not change a thing, loved it.We use to make cornish hens years ago,they were never this tasty.Thanks misty for posting this.It is a keeper.Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just started cooking and made cornish hens for the first time last week. The only thing I did differently was to use a Bruschetta Chicken spice rub on the hens during the initial roasting step then the orange glaze to baste. This recipe was such a huge success that my husband actually told me that after 10 years he couldn't talk smack about my cooking anymore! lol =) p.s. I also used the same orange glaze on some freshly caught red snapper and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Hi, I tried this recipe the other night for supper, and I am always looking for new ways to "dress up" chicken,and this was highly recommended and I am so glad that I tried it, here is what I liked about it: it was simple but a bit elegant and the chicken was very moist and really tasty, it was a bit different then the normal ways you do up chicken and that is what i loved about it! I think it is worth everyone trying it and i think you will be pleasantly Surprised with the results!! Thank you misty for posting this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for a special dinner during the Thanksgiving holiday and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to make the recipe for six people. Made a beautiful presentation and a delicious, memorable meal. Thanks Misty for sharing - it is a keeper and will be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A flavorful treat; the glaze gives a beautiful orange color to the final dish and an impressive presentation for a special dinner. I cooked at a lower temp as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was great! I cooked four birds instead of just two because we were having this for Christmas dinner with relatives. I cut some onions and carrots into chunks and threw them into the bottom of the pan before putting the birds in. Then I threw some fresh thyme and rosemary in. All of that helps the birds to keep moist and makes it very aromatic. I cooked at a lower temperature of 350 degrees for 3/4 of the cooking...I upped the temp to 400 for the last 20 or 30 minutes to brown the birds. The first 30 minutes I put foil over them, and then took it off for the basting portion of the cooking. I paired these birds with the "Moroccan Cous Cous" recipe which is on this site, and included a side of green beans to make a delicious and beautiful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everything turned out beautiful, just didnt care for the flavor so probally wouldnt make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This dish was superb ! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States