Orange Cornish Hen for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really simple sauce to make. I did make a couple of changes to accommodate what I had in the house without having to make yet another trip to the grocery store. I made 3 hens and if you double the recipe you should still have plenty of marinade. I didn't have orange concentrate, but I do have oranges trees. I squeezed oranges till I had the same amount of juice to equal the concentrate I substituted. I used honey that has oranges cloves in it. After combining all the ingredients I found the sauce a bit thin. I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to a little bit of milk and thickened the sauce perfectly. No change of taste at all. I used the rotisserie to cook the hens rather than bake in the oven. The comments I got were"you made an outstanding meal". And this was the best games hens I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I loved this...sent it out on facebook...my sauce just didn't make a glaze like I thought would be....juice, ketchup and honey...it was thick more like sauce....but was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything !!! This is delicious !!!!i I have made it for a Church fellowship, and everyone loved loved loved it. Thank You for sharing this recipe ! May The Lord richly Bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxy's
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
These two Cornish hens came out great. the only thing I added to the sauce was a little bit of Frank's hot sauce it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A flavorful treat; the glaze gives a beautiful orange color to the final dish and an impressive presentation for a special dinner. I cooked at a lower temp as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommasitaB
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My whole family enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was great! I cooked four birds instead of just two because we were having this for Christmas dinner with relatives. I cut some onions and carrots into chunks and threw them into the bottom of the pan before putting the birds in. Then I threw some fresh thyme and rosemary in. All of that helps the birds to keep moist and makes it very aromatic. I cooked at a lower temperature of 350 degrees for 3/4 of the cooking...I upped the temp to 400 for the last 20 or 30 minutes to brown the birds. The first 30 minutes I put foil over them, and then took it off for the basting portion of the cooking. I paired these birds with the "Moroccan Cous Cous" recipe which is on this site, and included a side of green beans to make a delicious and beautiful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Super good! The bird came out juicy and the orange glaze was simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I did not like the glaze it was too tangy. Too much work. I do not recommend this dish on a week night. Perhaps I missed a step or something but I was not happy with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States