Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
The orange juice flavor was overwhelming! It was really tart and I had to steal some of my sons mandarin oranges for a little sweetness. I will definitely not try this again...and I am an excellent cook. Thank God this recipe is inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This one really didn't work out for us. It was OK - nothing special. Just tasted like rice and orange juice. Probably will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Following the advice of other reviewers, I used 50/50 proportion of chicken broth and orange juice, and half the cumin. I also left out the onion powder and garlic powder, and threw in some chopped garlic instead. Delicious! My husband and I both loved it. We served it with the glazed salmon recipe found on this site, and some steamed broccoli. The cayenne gives it quite a kick, if you don't like spicy food use it very sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I was so disappointed with this! I finally got the time to prepare it tonight, and the only plus about it was that it was quick! I like the taste of orange juice, but 1 and 1/2 cups was just waaaay too much! And I browned the rice and simmered for 20 minutes (as the recipe states) and it was still crunchy and undercooked. I felt as though I was eating uncooked popcorn kernals! Despite that, I took a couple more bites but the OJ was just too overwhelming! I hope my garbage disposal enjoyed it! I'm thankful this was cheap to make, otherwise I would be thorougly disgusted! It might be delicious for someone else, but not my cup of tea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I love my rice and this recipe hit the spot! Orange juice with rice? Who would have thought? The spices listed for this recipe have the perfect amount. Just make the cayenne pepper mandatory rather than being an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
not that good at all. I think It was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I make this rice about once a week - it's my husband's absolute favorite!!! It goes with everything, but really well with pork tenderloin and chicken. It's the black pepper that really adds the spice, so cut down on that if it's too spicy for you. Also, I add chopped mandarin oranges with the cilantro at the end and it really makes it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Good way to give a little more variety to rice. Too much orange for me. Next time I will do 50/50 stock and OJ. Cilantro and Rice are like peas and carrots. ;-}>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I thought this was delicious, but the kids hated it! They all thought it was "too spicy" or had a "funny taste"...so hence the 3 stars. I don't think it was spicy, but had an exotic flavor...mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was very good. I like cumin, but 2 tsp seemed like a lot so I cut it down to one, and I'm glad I did. I also cut down a bit on the orange juice. I served it with Fig and Lemon Chicken from this site, and the two dishes went together very nicely. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States