Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was way to tangy. I followed the recipe without making adjustments. I think it would probably taste better with more Chicken Stock and less OJ. Maybe even some orange zest instead of orange juice as it the juice really just makes the rice take on the profiles of OJ but not much of the flavor. I personally would prefer the flavor without the Sweetness or Tang, when it comes to eating rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This makes a nice side dish for when you're in the mood for something different. I decreased the amount of OJ to one cup and increased the broth to one cup. It was just sweet enough without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I followed other people's suggestions, using 1/2 OJ, 1/2 broth. I still found the orange flavor overpowering. It was edible the first time, but the leftovers seemed to taste even worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
POSSIBLE WITH MINUTE RICE! I too cut back on the cumin to a tsp and didn't have any onions handy. However, you boil everything together except the cilantro, throw in the minute rice, let it do its thing, and then toss with cilantro. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
great flavor, we added chicken and used brown rice to it to make it a main dish. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely loved this fresh tasting rice. Cilantro lovers, you will really like this one! Per previous reviewers suggestion I added 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup orange juice. The flavors were perfect. The cayene makes it. Served with Chicken Kabobs Mexicana, a a great summer entertaining combo. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Although my family didn't care for this (they said it tasted weird), I thought the blend of flavors was excellent. I made this for dinner along with 2 other recipes from this site, the caramalized chicken and bacon and cheddar stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Really different, but quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was just ok. i felt like something went wrong - the orange juice flavor was pretty strong and a bit over powering. i think my guest were being nice by saying it was 'really' good but it did taste better the next day as reheated leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Loved this. Made it mostly as written, but didn't brown the rice (lacked both time and patience) and used 1 cup of orange juice and 1 cup of stock, because my husband tends not to like things too sweet. I kept all of the spice proportions the same; even though it seems like 2 tsps of cumin would be overwhelming, you need that much to cut through the sweetness of the OJ. Like others, my rice could have used another minute or two, but I was being pretty casual about timing so that could have been my fault. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States