Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This side dish was made exactly to specification, except we inserted the dash of ginger that so many recommended in their comments. Unfortunately, I still found the dish slightly bland, and the consistency was horribly sticky and the rice clumped together something terrible. I served it with Bev's Orange Chicken (as the Main Course), but even the gravy from the main dish did little to help separate the clinging pieces of rice. *Note: My daughter made this in her rice cooker, which very rarely fails in fully cooking such a rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This rice was good but a little too much with the cumin. If your not a big fan of cumin I suggest don't add so much or don't add it at all, but over all it was delish & loved the orange taste w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both loved it. We have cilantro in the backyard and this gives us one more reason to use it. Instead of cayenne I added some chili peppers and the subtle heat was perfect. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. Everyone loved this! I added orange zest for more orange flavor and used long grain rice so I had to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I added extra orange juice at the end and an extra 10-15 minutes cooking time and it was still a little crunchy. I didn't mind the al dente but the rest of the family didn't care for it. I made it with Smoky Mountain chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Good rice! I used water instead of chicken broth, and vegetable oil instead of butter, and it turned out good! Only weird thing, the bottom of the rice burned... maybe I had the heat on too high. Still tasted good, even with a few burned bits :-) Served with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This recipes was tasty. However I had to cut down on the amount since I was only making for two people. I might have put too much cumin but I also think next time I need to omit the cayenne pepper since I don't like too much spiciness. I could taste the orange flavor in the rice. was nice. I made this rice with, "Marinated Tuna Steaks," from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I only gave this a 3 because my husband liked the flavor. Despite adding extra broth and simmering for one hour, the rice came out crunchy. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a really tasty variation for a rice side dish. Because I wanted a milder flavor, I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used 1 cup chicken stock and 1 cup orange juice. I also used 1 tsp cumin instead of two. I've made this with parsley when that's what I have on hand. The flavor is milder, but still good. I put everything in my rice cooker, and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made a huge dinner, with chicken, boneless pork chops and multiple sides. Everyone's favorite dish? The orange-cilantro chicken, the afterthought. :) I picked it because the chicken had orange juice in the sauce and I wanted the side to complimnt it. It was my personal favorite, as well. I'm making it again tonight, to go with another chicken meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States