Orange Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because the original recipe does need a little help. First of all, the orange juice and zest contain nowhere near enough flavor to make this cheesecake taste orange-y at all. I suggest using a teaspoon or two of orange extract as well. I added all the orange flavors to the white batter only. I reserved the two cups for the chocolate before I added them, so the chocolate and orange would contrast nicely. The crust is great. Be sure you let your cream cheese and eggs sit out until they are at room temp, or you'll over beat the batter trying to get the lumps out. Over beating leads to all kinds of cheesecake problems! Anyway, lined my springform pan with foil and baked my cheesecake in a water bath. I had no structural or textural problems except for a few bubbles from slightly over beating. After it was done (60 min), I turned off the oven and let it cool for an hour inside. Then I took it out and let it cool completely on a wire rack. I chilled the cake overnight. I removed the hoop and bottom of the pan (tricky), and scored the top of the cake into 12 even portions. Garnished it with whipped cream from a pastry bag with a large star tip, chocolate filigree, and orange twists. I also served it with the Marmalade Drizzle from the Orange Pudding Cakes with Marmalade Drizzle recipe from this site as a sauce. It was a perfect addition to this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was skeptical on the orange chocolate combo because I usually prefer more berry flavors, but this turned out excellent!We used 2 table spoons of fresh squeezed orange juice and added coco to the crust. We also cooked the cheesecake in the waterbath like suggested and it came out smooth and creamy without cracks. We topped with the chocolate shavings and candied oranges. If I make it again, the only thing I would change is that I would take only separate 1 cup or 1 1/2 cups to mix with the chocolate because there seemed to be a lot more of the chocolate than the plain. And that way the chocolate swirls would be even more chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was really yummy! I made some changes based on the reviews: 2 tablespoons orange juice, 2 teaspoons orange extract, and the zest of one orange. Also, I used dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet- it gave it a more european flavor. Overall, a really good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I should have read the reviews because the orange juice & zest alone wasn't orangey enough - but still, a great cheesecake recipe. Everyone loved it! :) I'll be making it again, with a little more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
AMAZING! I have made it twice now and it's superb each time. I put in a little more orange than called for - about 2 tablespoons orange juice concentrate, and 1 tsp orange extract. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was very good. I liked the texture of the cheesecake, it was creamy and dense and not crumbly, melded well in the mouth. I did wish it had more orange flavor. I had even added extra zest and it was still too mild. The chocolate overpowered the orange. Next time I would reduce the amount of chocolate batter, but use a darker chocolate. Would also maybe add the orange extract as well. Was happy with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this wonderful recipe for my orange adoring husband for his birthday this past weekend. He along with our guest raved over this chessecake. I followed the advice of the other posts, using 2TBSP of orange juice and 1 teaspn of Orange Extract. The cake had a lovely orange flavor (not at all overpowering) with a nice accent of chocolate. I would highly recommend trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Oh my goodness was this good the only change I made was to use 4 teaspoons orange concentrate instead of 2 tablespoons of orange juice, because I really like the taste of orange and chocolate. I also melted the chocolate in the microwave. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was beautiful to look at and tasted very good. My only slight criticism is there wasn't much orange taste, I used orange liqueur. So I think I would up the amount next time. Everybody loved it though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is my goto recipe for cheesecake. It is dense and creamy. Also very versatile; I've substituted the chocolate and orange with both blueberry and strawberry puree. It makes a very pretty dessert garnished with the fresh fruit and always satisfies. Also can be frozen and enjoyed later. I always put the springform pan on top of a muffin pan filled with water when baking and it helps prevent cracks. Thanks for sharing. This dessert always wins rave reviews from friends and family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States