Orange Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because the original recipe does need a little help. First of all, the orange juice and zest contain nowhere near enough flavor to make this cheesecake taste orange-y at all. I suggest using a teaspoon or two of orange extract as well. I added all the orange flavors to the white batter only. I reserved the two cups for the chocolate before I added them, so the chocolate and orange would contrast nicely. The crust is great. Be sure you let your cream cheese and eggs sit out until they are at room temp, or you'll over beat the batter trying to get the lumps out. Over beating leads to all kinds of cheesecake problems! Anyway, lined my springform pan with foil and baked my cheesecake in a water bath. I had no structural or textural problems except for a few bubbles from slightly over beating. After it was done (60 min), I turned off the oven and let it cool for an hour inside. Then I took it out and let it cool completely on a wire rack. I chilled the cake overnight. I removed the hoop and bottom of the pan (tricky), and scored the top of the cake into 12 even portions. Garnished it with whipped cream from a pastry bag with a large star tip, chocolate filigree, and orange twists. I also served it with the Marmalade Drizzle from the Orange Pudding Cakes with Marmalade Drizzle recipe from this site as a sauce. It was a perfect addition to this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. I made it with Grand Marnier instead of the orange juice and the cake had a lovely light flavor. It's more of a creamy cheesecake, and it's very dense. My only complaint is that the graham cracker crust was too crumbly. When I was marbling my two batters the crust was pulled away from the pan and into the cake. When it was done baking and chilling the crust stayed mostly together, but I think it was just fused to the cake. Next time I think I'll make a chocolate cookie crust and use a darker chocolate in the cake (the semi-sweet didn't prove to be quite chocolatey enough). Thanks very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Oh my goodness was this good the only change I made was to use 4 teaspoons orange concentrate instead of 2 tablespoons of orange juice, because I really like the taste of orange and chocolate. I also melted the chocolate in the microwave. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is my goto recipe for cheesecake. It is dense and creamy. Also very versatile; I've substituted the chocolate and orange with both blueberry and strawberry puree. It makes a very pretty dessert garnished with the fresh fruit and always satisfies. Also can be frozen and enjoyed later. I always put the springform pan on top of a muffin pan filled with water when baking and it helps prevent cracks. Thanks for sharing. This dessert always wins rave reviews from friends and family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Excellent. I added 2T orange juice plus an additional 1 teaspoon of orange extract. This was perfect for me. Next time, I will reduce the amount of sugar in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this wonderful recipe for my orange adoring husband for his birthday this past weekend. He along with our guest raved over this chessecake. I followed the advice of the other posts, using 2TBSP of orange juice and 1 teaspn of Orange Extract. The cake had a lovely orange flavor (not at all overpowering) with a nice accent of chocolate. I would highly recommend trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. I did use orange extract instead of orange juice and the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zephyr2003
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cheesecake was wonderful! Dense and creamy and amazing. Like other reviewers, I decided to up the orange flavor. I didn't have orange extract or orange juice concentrate, so I measured out about 1/3c. orange juice and cooked it down until reduced by half. I also used the orange zest of about one whole medium orange (~2-3 teaspoons). Baked the cheesecake in a hot water bath for exactly one hour then turned the oven off and let it cool inside for another hour. Cooled on a wire rack for a good while (had to fend of some tempted family members at this point, haha) and then chilled overnight. I served this on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I should have read the reviews because the orange juice & zest alone wasn't orangey enough - but still, a great cheesecake recipe. Everyone loved it! :) I'll be making it again, with a little more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was very good. I liked the texture of the cheesecake, it was creamy and dense and not crumbly, melded well in the mouth. I did wish it had more orange flavor. I had even added extra zest and it was still too mild. The chocolate overpowered the orange. Next time I would reduce the amount of chocolate batter, but use a darker chocolate. Would also maybe add the orange extract as well. Was happy with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States