Orange Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It was very good. It would have lacked orange flavor had I not read reviews and added 1 T of orange zest and 2 t of orange extract. I added 1 t to both the white and chocolate batter. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will be only adding it to the white batter so I can have a pure chocolate taste in the swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
this turned out so great!!! My husband can't get enough of this. He has me make one almost every week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This cheesecake recipe is awesome. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it absolutely needs more orange flavour to contrast with the chocolate. Other than that it's a great recipe. I followed what other said by mixing less chocolate mixture but next time I will follow the directions as written as the chocolate becomes too heavy to swirl into the white mixture if you mix less. No cracking on the top of the cheesecake and not at all dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I brought this to a work related potluck, and WOW! Did people love it! After reading other reviews, I used orange extract instead of juice, probably between 1 and 2 tablespoons. I also doubled up on the orange zest. I did a mix of semi-sweet chocolate and milk chocolate chips, about 3/4 cup total, maybe more. I need to keep a gluten free kitchen at home so I made a crust with gluten free chocolate chip cookies instead of graham crackers. 2 cups cookie crumbs 5 tablespoons butter and 3 tbsp of sugar. No one could tell is was gluten free. I received so many compliments on it. It is truly decadent and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I enjoyed this cheesecake. Chocolate and orange taste is a very good combination. I didnt have orange juice so I increased amount of orange candied zest and added orange extract. I added that only to the white mixture. I made crust from chocolate sandwich cookies, it was great. The problem I had was leaking some liquid out of spring form, and burning in the oven. So I would recommend to wrap it in foil and bake it in water bath. So I did that after 30 min when I found out it was leaking. I should have follow Tough Cookie's advise. :) Next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My guests raved about it! I found your recipe easy and the result DELICIOUS! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
i made this for christmas dessert and it was awesome! it didnt swirl on top how i was expecting it to but once i sliced into it there the swirls were. the taste was good. nice and orangey but not as strong as a chocolate orange. definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this dessert for a post-Christmas dinner for the in-laws. This was an extreme hit for my family and me! I did use contreau instead of the orange juice and up-ed the orange zest to a full teaspoon. This added a VERY nice orange flavor without it being too overpowering for us. I also didn't crush the graham crackers too fine. I did leave some "bits-n-pieces" and it seemed to help with the texture (I'm not a huge fan of crusts period). I also liked the flavor of the crust; light and not cinnamon-y like some cheesecake crusts. I did have trouble using a thin knife to separate the cake from the pan edges once it came out of the oven. I don't think you'll have to do this step; you may end up "de-facing" it like I did. It seemed like once it cooled, it pulled away the edges quite nicely anyway. It did crack but I don't mind cracked cheesecake. The crack gives it more character ;o) All in all a FANTABULOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy, I added 2 tsp orange extract. I cut the amount of chocolate batter in half. I liked the ratio in my cheesecake, but there was a slight problem. I kept semi choclate amount teh same so it was a very thick consistency. It did NOT mix well with the thinner white batter. It was very hard to marble. Overall a great cheesecake. I didn't like the crust though. It was lacking something for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was pretty good. I did think it needed some extra orange flavor so I used OJ concentrate instead of juice. Also put in 1 tsp orange extract and extra zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States