Orange Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These were really yummy. I used greek yogurt and mini chocolate chips(weighed to 3oz)with a bit extra orange zest and juice. We loved them (my daughters and I). They were done in 15 miutes. wonderful flavor and texture and only about 170 calories. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These muffins were good...but...the truth is: I am trying to find THE orange chocolate-chip muffin recipe that my mom used to make but [fast forward 20 years] no longer has the recipe for. And these were not it. I remember those as having more flavour and being bigger and cracklier. So these muffins were good and I do recommend them. I did not notice the part about 18 servings until after I prepared them in my 12-serving pan. They were a decent size this way - would probably be rather small per the recipe direction. Substituted yogurt and chocolate-chips. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Absolutely brilliant recipe. Like others, I split the batter in two and used 1/2 cup cocoa as substitution for 1/2 cup of the flour in one half of the batter. I used chocolate chips instead of grated chocolate. I didn't have any sour cream, nor plain yoghurt, so I used 1/2 cup of raspberry yoghurt instead and it worked out fine - added an extra, fruity dimension to it! I also used a tsp of pure orange essence and didn't use any orange peel. The cakes turned out beautifully. I used a brand new set of silicone muffin trays and they were so evenly baked and beautifully risen and cracked on the top. The cupcakes are very light, fluffy, and have a juicy fruity taste complimented well with the chocolate. Absolutely superb! The batter made 12 large muffins and although I was going to take them over to a friend's house tonight I think I am tempted to just save them all for myself...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I used butterscotch chips instead of grated chocolate. And substituted fresh passion fruit (lilikoi) juice, since my garden is overloaded with lilikoi. Great recipe... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
here's what i did: i divided the batter in half before i added the flour, and added 1 cup flour to the first half, and 1/2 cup flour+1/2 cup cocoa to the other half. then i filled the muffin cups with half plain and half cocoa batter. they tasted awesome, and had a more sophisticated look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Not very flavorful, either orange or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!!! I love it!!!! I split the mixture in half. Then I added 1/4 cup of cocoa powder to one half. So I had half brown and half white muffins. They were fab!!!!! Xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were good! I substituted applesauce for the butter, greek yogurt for the sour cream, and half white whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The recipe calls for 3 oz. of chocolate (not 1 oz.). Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were amazing one of the best muffins i have had in a long time...they were moist, they had tons of flavor..i used choc chip in the recipe instead. If fact i liked this recipe so much i made a lot of changes to make a different flavor Black Forest Muffins I could see me using this recipe once a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States