Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Oh my GOD!! This was awesome - I did however make a few changes. Instead of broth and flour I used a can of "cream of chicken" soup. I used red pepper flakes instead of regular black pepper and I added a bit of whole garlic(minced) and soy sauce. I also used apricot preserves as well as orange marmalade. It was better then Panda Express!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I'm going to be honest, this was horrible. I didn't even serve it. I had the chicken sauteed, and the sauce simmering and it smelled awful, I was ready to add the chicken but decided to give the sauce a taste first, I'm sure glad I did, It was the worst. I thought it was maybe just me so I called my husband over and made him try it. After that it went straight down the drain and I made the chicken into a different recipie. I love marmelade so that was not the problem. It was the combination of all of the flavors, they just did not go together I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I've made it for friends on many occasions, and I've never had a dissatisfied customer. When I make it, I add 1/4 cup of soy sauce to tame the sweetness/orange flavor. I also use two skillets and cook the chicken and sauce simultaneously. Oh and to the geniuses who complained about the taste of orange peel, how about you STRAIN THE SAUCE before serving it? I always look forward to cooking this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
It is super easy and fast but way too sweet for our liking. We added dashes of salt, chopped green and red bell peppers and some minced garlic just to make it less sweet. I would suggest reducing the maralade and/or added some soy sauce or something to reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This was very easy and fast. I did not like the taste of the marmalade with chicken. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I made this recipe for my family tonight. I was expecting it to turn out the way it looks in Chinese resturaunts. Now don't be discouraged to make this recipe just because it looks unpleasant. The taste was very yummy and I would make it again. I only added a pinch of pepper because it is not my favorite taste. I added a little more Lemon Juice that the recipe called for. There was a lot of sauce, but when served over rice it is just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I served this dish to company and got rave reviews. I took advice of other reviews and added green and red bell peppers as well as a little extra lemon juice. We didn't find this dish very sweet at all. The difference in sweetness may be due to the type of marmalade that is used. We found the dish refreshingly tart. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Thanks for such an easy recipe!! It was great! The second time I made it, I reduced the marmalade to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup soy sauce. I also cut the chicken up into bite size pieces, battered and fried them before adding them back to the sauce. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This recipie is nothing like i thought it would be. I didn't like it at all. Im sure this recipe is tasty for people like orange marmalade. I will never make this again. Sorry sarah, but thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
OK--so I stole this tip from Rachael Ray... it occurred to me that the complaints could be because the flour didn't have a chance to cook. I sprinkled the flour over the chicken drippings and let it rest for a minute, then stirred in the chicken stock. After it thickened a bit, I stirred in the marmalade and lemon juice. It turned out to be pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States