Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I served this chicken for a bridge potluck. I cooked it before I left and put it in a crockpot on low with the sauce over it. It kept very well and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I served it with a wild rice mixture in a separate container. I think I might try putting the rice under the chicken when I serve it at home in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I thought this recipe was great because it was a very quick and simple meal. However, the orange taste was very overbearing for my husband & I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
this is only the second recipe I've tried off all recipes, but I enjoyed it. I want to make a helpful review for people out there who are skeptical of trying this. First off, I was pleased with the meal to an extent, and I'm giving it four stars becuase I think I can make it better. The sauce really didn't "do" anything for me... it didn't taste like restaurants' orange chicken does, rather, I tasted the marmalade a lot, and it didn't really have any "kick" to it, as restaurant orange chicken often does. I would love to get feedback on what other things people have tried in order to make the taste more bold, and... orange chicken like. The 7 minute cook time is definetly not enough. I cooked the chicken at 375, and it took 14 minutes for it to cook. The sauce was too thin - this is probably my fault, but I'm wondering on some good ideas to make the saucer thicker. Many people have commented that the sauce was like a paste, but.. this was not my experience at all. The flavor was good, but I wished it was a tad thicker. I would love to bread the chicken, and see how that tastes too. Overall, this is a good recipe... but, I'd really like to see some tweaking of it to make it better. Thanks Sarah... this is one I'll work on in my kitchen to perfect to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Thanks Sarah, this was so easy and delicious, makes a nice impression. Everyone enjoyed it. I was a little nervous when I mixed the flour in, it did not look very good, but I cooked it as directed, then tasted it before I put the chicken in, the whole texture and appearance changes when you cook it, so go beyond the first impression. Thanks again for a very easy yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I can't believe any of the bad reviews this was getting. This is a quick, easy, and delicious dish. I made this for my dad, who has heart disease and eats very low fat. I used low sodium, low fat chicken broth. He loved it. I will continue to prepare and enjoy this. Thanks for the recipe, Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
It was too tart for my kids but it was good, maybe I would add some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Sorry, but this wasn't what I was expecting. It was a thick gloppy floury gravy, uncooked at the time recommended. My three growing boys will eat anything, I just experiment for fun. None of them would touch it. One of them experimented with just drizzling a little fresh squeezed OJ over some cooked chicken and they all like that better! A waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This was very good. I didn't have quite enough orange marmalade, so I added a tablespoon or so of duck sauce (which had peaches and pineapple as some of the ingredients) and it came out great. I served it over basmati rice with steamed asparagus. It'll be a staple in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was a delicious meal and the orange sauce was wonderful. If you are looking for something different and tangy this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
A quick and easy recipe that we loved. I will definitely make it again. The sauce had a unique flavor and there was plenty of it for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Canajoharie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States