Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! Just before the chicken was done frying, I added a pkg of frozen stir fry veggies (which finished cooking after adding the sauce mix). Served over white rice and chow mein noodles. GREAT STUFF!! And soooo easy to make. The hardest part was cutting up the chicken! thanks for sharing this recipe! Don't add too much flour or cornstarch...you need enough sauce to saturate the rice (if you serve over rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a great base recipe, and with just a few tweaks it quickly became a five-star meal! I skipped the zest and the salt and toned down the garlic for personal preference. When I started, I cooked some spaghetti noodles and set those aside. Along with the bean sprouts, I added broccoli, red pepper, and a small can of mandarin oranges, juice and all (you can also use the mandarin juice to mix with the flour when you thicken the sauce). Then threw in some extra (low-salt)soy sauce to balance out the extra juice. Stirred in the spaghetti noodles and served. We added the cashews and chow mein noodles at our plates so they wouldn't get soggy with any leftovers. Next time I think I will also add carrots, snap peas, and mushrooms. It was so fast and easy that this is getting added to our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Very good! Better than take out and was just as fast. Used instant rice to serve with it, and added cubed green peppers and pineapple, and used a little of the pineapple juice too for taste. skipped the salt and orange rind and added some of the pineapple juice and found that this made the saltiness disappear completely and gave the sauce just what it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This recipe was very good. I changed it a little bit, adding about 1/8 tsp ground ginger, and 1 Tbsp Orange Marmalade. I also served it over white rice and added broccoli instead of bean sprouts. It tasted similar to Orange Chicken you get from chinese restaurants without the breading on the chicken. Maybe next time I will add a little red pepper flakes to give it a little heat. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
A little too salty, but cut the salt, in half, and this is really good. I prefer to use cornstarch rather than flour to thicken - Half as much cornstarch is the ratio to use. Good over hot cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My hubby is crazy for this! We serve over brown rice and use carrots, peppers, and broccoli instead of the sprouts. You can make any # of modifications to this one and never go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I have never made anything this good! It was easy to make, mostly prep time, and it came out tasting fantastic. I also added some frozen stir fry veggies and they went well with the dish. You won't be dissapointed by this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I thought this was just great (and a great substitute for the store-bought, high-calorie, fastfood version with this name). I added 1 tsp of corn starch to the bowl holding the orange juice mixture and threw in some chunks of onion and green and red peppers. The sauce coats the chicken nicely. This is a keeper. I made a vegetable lo mein on the side and added mandarin oranges for additional color to the plate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
My family loved it, I used corn strach to thicken and added a little more zest. Great with rice, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
A wonderful change from the usual stir fry! My husband has a cholesterol problem and this dish was perfect. You can easily use less chicken and not miss it. Not only that but you can add nearly any vegies to it. I added a little pineapple, celery, broccoli, green pepper and red for a beautiful splash of color. Even my youngest said it was good and she views any new dish with suspicion. And use a little orange zest. You don't have to use as much as it says but it makes a difference even if you just use a little. We will make this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States