Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
DELICIOSO! i used 2 tbspns orange zest (too much. so follow recipe 1 tbspn) & juiced 3 oranges. i added alot of ground ginger also the the liquid mix. i used diced thighs & breast. i used about 1 tbspn cornstarch & it thickened the liquid just right. all in all,this dish was wonderful.. quite a change from the usual chicken dinners !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Not being a fan of soy sauce I should have cut the soy down to maybe 2 tbsp. I found it to be too much and made the dish salty. however it was still good. I will try it again with less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Making it tonight, the sauce is so nice! I didn't add the extra salt as with the soy (I use Ketjap Manis) and the lovely orange flavour, no extra salt was needed. I also did not use the Chinese noodles, instead made some white rice to serve it over and I added the bean sprouts and some water chestnuts for the crunch texture. I also added on the side some Conimex Kroepoek for that lovely crunch and flavour. Excellent! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I liked this recipe, i made a few changes that tweaked it to my tasting. I added ground Ginger and red pepper flakes. I also added baby corn and water chestnuts. I also added chopped frozed peas and carrots for color. I also added the orange zest from an entire naval orange so it came to about 2 tablespoons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Made a couple of changes: used an actual orange- squeezed the juice out of it and got the zest. It made it taste so fresh & delicious, rather then packaged orange juice. Also, did not thicken the sauce, it was good as is, for us. Added ginger made a big delicious difference :) Played with the amount of brown sugar a little- ended-up adding less then this recipe calls for. At first, whn tasted the sauce wasn't impressed with flavor, but once it cooked out, it turned out DELICIOUS!! My teenager who is a picky eater LOVED IT & so did hubby & baby too. I did not use sprouts- used a package of frozen broccoli instead & served over rice pilaf. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very tasty! Next time I make it I think that I will add sliced celery and carrots as well as 1/4 tsp. of grated fresh ginger. I served mine over cooked brown rice, which I believe is healthier than the chow mein noodles. I also will double the recipe, as this was enough for only my husband and I, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
this was good, next time i'll add pinapple and green and red peppers as someone else suggested, then it may be 5 star :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Was surprised by how disappointed the whole family was in this dish since it got great reviews. To each their own, I guess! Followed the recipe reasonably closely to be able to rate it, we did not like it at all, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I did how ever put a twist on it. Instead of using chicken I used firm tofu, broccoli, and king oyster mushrooms. Didn't even miss the chicken. Added a little bit more flour to thicken than suggeted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
With a few tweaks this recipe is fantastic! After reading a few reviews and following my own taste I decided to omit the salt as suggested and am happy I did. I also added 1/2 tsp of groung ginger and 1/8 of a tsp of red pepper flakes, and coated the pieces of chicken with corn starch before frying. This recipe is easily tailored to your specific taste, which always makes a great recipe. I used my own combo of veggies too, broccoli, a julienne of carrots and cabbage, snow peas, and yellow bell pepper all served over a bed of brown rice. My husband said it was better than take out! **** note: I did not need to add flour since I coated the chicken pieces in corn starch before cooking them. If I wanted it to be thicker I would have used more corn starch, not flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States