Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I found the taste too strong and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
So-so. Definitely don't add the tsp of salt though. Needs the color of the mixed veggies to give it a little zip - it's very bland looking otherwise.! I was hoping it would have the orange "glaze" type sauce but it definitely wasn't that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great recipe! Soooo delicious! Used green pepper and pineapple chunks instead of bean sprouts...they are listed as optional anyway. If you like bean sprouts, then I'm sure it would still be 5 stars. Also, I used pineapple juice from the can of pineapple instead of orange juice, but I still think it would've been 5 stars with OJ! Did everything else according to the recipe. Think it would be great over rice and garnished with cashews. Oh, I almost forgot...reduced salt content to 1/2 teaspoon. Kept everything the same, even the zest. That's all the changes, I swear! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this a while ago and hadn't seen it until it popped up in my in box. I always make this with cubed boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts because they're tender, moist and flavorful--never dry. I occasionally add a bit of powdered ginger to this recipe; if I think ahead, I chop up candied ginger in small pieces--about a tablespoon--and add that. It makes it really yummy! I have also chopped up about 3 tablespoons of dried apricots and added it to this, along with the candied ginger and the flavor was really enhanced by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love this and so did my husband. I added baby corn and snow peas. I put it over chow mein noodles and hubby put it over rice. I don't cook with salt and I use reduced sodium soya, still tasted lovely. I like the zest from the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
One of the most flavorful meals Ive made from allrecipes.It was a big hit and made it to the regular rotation...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this 2 nights ago, tweeked it slightly by adding some fresh mushrooms and onions, it became an instant favorite...Amazing how much flavor that orange and orange zest can add !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I used this recipe for the sauce ingredients. I added a couple teaspoons of chili paste with garlic (Lan Chi brand) because everybody in our house wants some spice in their stir fry, and the orange flavor still came out. It smoothed out the chili paste and gave the whole dish a delicious richness. I'll be using this again. I did omit the salt. Sprouts sound like a perfect addition and next time I'll have them on hand as well as the other vegetables I used (broccoli, celery, red bell pepper and mushrooms). Thanks for a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband LOVED this. He said it is on par with any restaurant orange chicken. I am giving this recipe 5 stars because if I made it as written, it would be great. However, I did slightly modify the recipe for my own preference. As some other readers, I added a bag of stir fry veggies at the same time that I added the sauce. I used corn starch instead of flour for thickening, and I took some readers advice and omitted the salt. This was a GRAVE mistake. Even though we tried the sauce beforehand, we found that the sauce lacked salt when we sat down to eat. In our own bowls we added more soy sauce to add salt and to cut some of the sweetness. My husband also added siracha as he loves heat. We will definitely make this again but with more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
DELICIOSO! i used 2 tbspns orange zest (too much. so follow recipe 1 tbspn) & juiced 3 oranges. i added alot of ground ginger also the the liquid mix. i used diced thighs & breast. i used about 1 tbspn cornstarch & it thickened the liquid just right. all in all,this dish was wonderful.. quite a change from the usual chicken dinners !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States