Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So easy to make! I used fresh orange juice (from juicer) but you can just store bought. I grated finely a tsp of ginger, freshly grated finely 1 Tbsp orange zest, and added 5 garlic cloves coarsely chopped. I first cooked the chicken thigh pieces (dipped in egg white, and then in corn flour mixed with garlic powder coating the chicken). keeps it more tender and moist and sauce sticks to the chicken better with this coating. Veg used: carrots, cauliflower, onion peas. Yum! Next time: I might add a tsp of chili flakes for some heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is wonderful. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger. After the chicken was done and the sauce boiling, I added about half of the flour and stirred until thick. Then I tossed in 1/2 of a medium sized green pepper, sliced thin, and quickly stir-fried it for one minute. Served it over sticky rice. NO LEFTOVERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Family loved it. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was absolutely DELICIOUS! I took a fresh orange from my fridge, and juiced it. But unfortunately, the orange juice ran out. So I decided to put 1/4 cup cranberry juice in to make up for the shortage of orange juice. This made it turn out amazing! I also used half the amount of salt called for, and put in 1 head of broccoli. DEFINITELY will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This made a YUMMY dinner...even better than take-out! I used fresh squeezed orange juice, which really gave the chicken nice flavor. I steamed broccoli and baby carrots while the chicken cooked, and added it at the end (instead of bean sprouts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very bland. My husband and I could hardly eat was was in our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Silvia2Be

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great Recipe! The sauce was one of the best I have made for a stir fry. I didn't have orange zest. I stir-fryed broccoli, mushroom, and sliced carrot in sesame oil over high heat for about 2-3 minutes. I took the vegies out of the pan followed the rest of the recipe directions adding the vegetables with the chicken at the end. With the added vegies I would make more sauce. I also made white rice to go with the meal instead of noodles. Delicious! Next time I'm going to cook more vegies, more sauce, and less chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
almost too much orange, but very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Well that was delicious!!! I had 3 lbs of chicken to get rid of and I was TIRED of chicken. This was refreshing and tasty! I tripled the recipe to account for all of my chicken and the 5 adults I was feeding. I grated maybe 1 TBSPN of zest, I juiced 7 oranges, cut out the salt, used low sodium soy sauce and 5 TBSPN of cornstarch to replace the flour. Served over rice, it was perfect!! I did not have bean sprouts, but they would add a delicious crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
EXCELLENT MEAL!!!! Absolutely amazing. I went with suggestions from other users and skipped the orange zest and additional salt, added a small can of mandarin oranges and crushed pepper flakes and used green and red peppers instead of bean sprouts. It was perfect. The mandarins added an amazing sweetness, the pepper gave it the spiciness I love. I will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States