Orange Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I changed a few things. After the notes by others that it was salty, I skipped the salt, used low sodium soy sauce (1/4 cup), added 1/8 cup teriyaki sauce, two cloves of grated garlic and some crushed red pepper flakes. Instead of adding a thickener, I allowed the sauce to cook down on its own (about 10 minutes) with 1/2 cup cashews which infused the flavors into the chicken. I served it over a bed of brown rice with edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is a nice recipe. I mixed the sauce up in the morning and just put it in the fridge. I cooked the meat in a wok and added the sauce. I then transferred it to a skillet so I could use the wok to make fried rice. I omitted the salt because the soy sauce is salty enough for us, but did add the optional bean sprouts. Right before serving, I added a little Wondra® to thicken the sauce, rather than flour. Served this over 'Fried Rice II' from AR and spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Too much soy sauce and not enough orange. I added more B.Sugar to try to counteract the soy. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Really great recipe - I used freshly squeezed juice from blood oranges and it turned out even better. Simple ingredients that really yielded a delicious and healthy dinner. I also used the same amount of sauce with only 2 chicken breasts so that we had more sauce to enjoy with rice. Highly recommend - it was really easy and I had all of the ingredients at home to make it. Next time I think I'll try the chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very good! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I used reduced sodium soy sauce and it still turned out way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I think I must have done something wrong. It tasted just weird - nothing specific I could identify. I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great! For a healthy orange chicken this rocked! No bottled sauce mixtures needed. I added tablespoon of Penzey's orange peel (likes dried zest). After I put the sauce in the pan with chicken I added chopped baby carrots & snow peas then put lid on. After about 5 mins the sauce had thickened slightly and the veggies were crisp tender. Served it all over jasmine rice & sprinkle with chopped scallion & sesame seeds. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Not bad, a little bland for us. Even with a lot of rooster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Very tasty! If you have all the ingredients on hand, do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States