Orange Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TABASB
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this delicious recipe today with a few changes. I did not add a pkg of frozen stir fry vegetables because I prefer fresh but also it would have been too many for the recipe. I also didn't add the red peper flakes. You can use any type of rice. I had some jasmine rice on hand so I used that but prefer brown rice. It took a bit more time to prepare than 20 min. so don't make it if you're in a hurry. I'm sure this recipe will not disappoint. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! But I tweaked it to fit what was on hand. Beef broth rather than chicken. Like the other reviewer, all fresh and no frozen veges. I added a half teaspoon of Thai chili paste (cranking up the hot meter). Apple juice instead of orange juice. No zest (whatever good that is?!). And I only used two chicken breasts. Everyone loved it (4 teens, my husband and me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great recipe! Prep was longer than 20 minutes the first time I tried it though. Don't make it if you are in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I made a few changes. Since it called for orange zest, I squeezed fresh orange juice since I had to buy the oranges for the zest anyway. My husband and two of my kids (both teenagers) thought it was delicious but said that it was a little too orangey. Next time, I will cut down on the zest. I steamed fresh broccoli and then added it to the chicken/sauce mixture and then served it over rice and some chinese crunchy noodles. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this recipe for dinner last night. The prep time was longer that twenty minutes, but was well worth it. I had added a few more spices and some red, green and yellow peppers. The taste was so delicious. Thought i had made enough for left overs; Boy was i wrong. Next time i will make enough to ensure that there is enough left overs! Just a great recipe, and very healthy as well. Will make this again real so. My whole family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I really liked this stir-fry. Can use many types of veggies and makes a lot. Great for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really really really enjoyed this recipe! Although I did have to make some adjustments as well based on what I already had on hand. I used 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed OJ and omitted the orange zest because of previous reviewers who said it was a bit too 'orange-y', and it turned out wonderful even without it. Left out the ginger since I didn't have any, and instead of the vegetable oil I just did 1 tbsp of sesame oil and 1 tbsp of olive oil. I used less oil because I had less meat than the recipe called for. Also used shrimp instead of chicken. It turned out a little tough though, so if you use it I would recommend adding the vegetables first then cooking the shrimp last to avoid over-cooking it. And for the veggies I did sliced carrots, broccoli, sweet peppers, and regular peas. I also used about 3/4 of the cornstarch mixture to make the sauce nice and thick so I could add everything over a nice bed of quinoa.... turned out SO delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe (to save time I used a bag of frozen stir fry veggies) and found the orange flavor with a touch of heat was perfect. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is fabulous! The only change I had to make was using fresh ginger instead of ground. I think the amount of orange peel should be to each person's taste. For me, 1/2 tbs. was plenty but others may prefer the amount called for. Very customizable, quick, and easy. A definite re-do for me. Thank you! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really good, easy to make, solid choice for everyone in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States