Orange Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is similar to a dish that I remember from my childhood. I am trying to make recipes that use things I already have in my kitchen and this fit the bill. I did sub mandarin oranges instead of fruit cocktail. I also used regular mayo. I was skeptical about the addition of mayo and vinegar but I don't think you could taste either. The salad itself was a little less sweet than your normal gelatin salad which is a positive in my book. We both enjoyed this very much and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this as a dessert and was quite happy with how it turned out. I didn't want to use fruit cocktail, so I added some extra carrot (I used 3 instead of one, next time I'll only use 2, it was a bit too much carrot). I used sugar free jello (2-0.32oz packages) and I only had an 8oz package of Neufchatel cheese, so I doubled the water and the mayo. Yum. I did forget to add the vinegar, and I think I'm glad that I did. I might try adding it next time. But I don't think that it needed anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I wasn't sure about this recipe with the mayo and vinegar. It turned out great! I used the mandarin oranges suggested by another review. Took it to a family picnic and came home with an empty bowl. Enough said!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was yummy. I also used sugar free jello, light cream cheese, celery,and mandarin oranges because this is what I had on hand instead of the other items. I've been trying different jello recipes here and finally found one I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gamingirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made this salad for Christmas and everyone loved it! I did use the sugar-free gelatin, tho. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Good recipe but a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is a very different good salad. I followed the recipe amounts exactly but did use one 3 oz. sugar free jello and one 3 oz. regular. Also used the fruit cocktail that is sweetened with Splenda and pineapple in its own juice so calories were reduced. Tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used sugarfree jello. The dish was tasty yet my family refused to eat it--too many 'things' in it. I won't make it again because of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Fabulous & Refreshing! I changed this just a little, using mandarin orages instead of fruit coctail and cream cheese instead of N. cheese plus I used 1/4 cup more carrot. I messed up and used 2 cups of water to make the gelatin and it was still perfect. Try this, you WILL like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Delicious! We really liked this one and it is not so sweet. Good Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States