Orange Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening--it was what I had on hand and added 1/2 tsp of orange extract to the glaze frosting. These turned out pretty good. Took them to work--they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I like the taste, but they turn out very cake-like. Something needs to be done about the baking soda/powder mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Okay, I'm a ditz so I added grated raw carrots (I'd been reading a ton of other carrot recipes.) I saw my error so I added one cup of cooked carrots to make up for it. Believe it or not, they still came out very tasty. They were a bit cakey though so I wonder if I should cut down on the baking powder--or are they meant to be cake-like? I told my daughter they were carrot cake cookies! She loves them, especially the glaze but I used orange juice concentrate, melted, and blended it into the sugar for extra flavor. My friends wanted the recipe so it must be good! I prefer cookies with more crisp edges, but these have great flavor. A novel way to use carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I have made these cookies since I was in middle school, and like to make them for Easter, but couldn't find my recipe, so used this one. They were good. I used half whole wheat flour and used a plastic cup of cinnamon applesauce in place of 1/2 cup of the shortening. (I also had to use butter instead of shortening for another 1/2 cup; that's all I had.) They were good. I did have some dried orange zest and I think that added a lot to the icing. So while I would have thought the whole orange and zest thing could be skipped, I think it adds a lot to the icing. (I added a touch of zest to the dough also.) I could not seem to get the icing right. I added 1 tablespoon oj to 1/2 cup powdered sugar and it was way too thin, so start out with very small amounts of juice. They had icing dripped down the sides even after I tried to thicken it. I will make these again, but will look for my old recipe to see if there were any differences that made for an improvement on taste. They were good, but I don't think everyone loved them at the Easter dinner I attended. Cheesecake and brownies with ice cream seemed a bit more popular. GREAT way to add beta carotene to a veggie hater's diet. I gave them without icing to my 1 year old who has decided she doesn't like carrots anymore, and she loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I love this recipe! My Granny made these all the time when I was little, primarily for Christmas. Thanks for sharing. I made them yesterday and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
THESE ARE GREAT. I USED CANNED CARROTS TO SAVE TIME AND I JUST ADDED STORE BOUGHT ORANGE JUICE TO THE POWERED SUGAR UNTIL I HAD THE RIGHT CONSISTENCY FOR THE GLAZE. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I love these cookies. I too had a grandmothers cookbook with this recipe in it but had lost it in a move. Thrilled to find it again.. They are moist, flavorfull and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Worth the extra time to cook and mash the carrots. The whole family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
very tasty, moist cookies. an excellent recipe- took some to work and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States