Orange Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening--it was what I had on hand and added 1/2 tsp of orange extract to the glaze frosting. These turned out pretty good. Took them to work--they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I like the taste, but they turn out very cake-like. Something needs to be done about the baking soda/powder mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Okay, I'm a ditz so I added grated raw carrots (I'd been reading a ton of other carrot recipes.) I saw my error so I added one cup of cooked carrots to make up for it. Believe it or not, they still came out very tasty. They were a bit cakey though so I wonder if I should cut down on the baking powder--or are they meant to be cake-like? I told my daughter they were carrot cake cookies! She loves them, especially the glaze but I used orange juice concentrate, melted, and blended it into the sugar for extra flavor. My friends wanted the recipe so it must be good! I prefer cookies with more crisp edges, but these have great flavor. A novel way to use carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I have made these cookies since I was in middle school, and like to make them for Easter, but couldn't find my recipe, so used this one. They were good. I used half whole wheat flour and used a plastic cup of cinnamon applesauce in place of 1/2 cup of the shortening. (I also had to use butter instead of shortening for another 1/2 cup; that's all I had.) They were good. I did have some dried orange zest and I think that added a lot to the icing. So while I would have thought the whole orange and zest thing could be skipped, I think it adds a lot to the icing. (I added a touch of zest to the dough also.) I could not seem to get the icing right. I added 1 tablespoon oj to 1/2 cup powdered sugar and it was way too thin, so start out with very small amounts of juice. They had icing dripped down the sides even after I tried to thicken it. I will make these again, but will look for my old recipe to see if there were any differences that made for an improvement on taste. They were good, but I don't think everyone loved them at the Easter dinner I attended. Cheesecake and brownies with ice cream seemed a bit more popular. GREAT way to add beta carotene to a veggie hater's diet. I gave them without icing to my 1 year old who has decided she doesn't like carrots anymore, and she loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I love this recipe! My Granny made these all the time when I was little, primarily for Christmas. Thanks for sharing. I made them yesterday and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
THESE ARE GREAT. I USED CANNED CARROTS TO SAVE TIME AND I JUST ADDED STORE BOUGHT ORANGE JUICE TO THE POWERED SUGAR UNTIL I HAD THE RIGHT CONSISTENCY FOR THE GLAZE. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I love these cookies. I too had a grandmothers cookbook with this recipe in it but had lost it in a move. Thrilled to find it again.. They are moist, flavorfull and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Worth the extra time to cook and mash the carrots. The whole family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
very tasty, moist cookies. an excellent recipe- took some to work and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States