Orange Caper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was very simple to make and turned out well. I like the combination of orange and capers. Next time, though, I think I will add a little brown sugar to make the coating a little sweeter and not so tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I just made this for dinner tonight. While the chicken was cooking I was able to chop the parsley and grate the orange zest so prep was easy. I served it over rice. I asked my family what they would rate it and my brother the chef looks at me and goes "This is good. The chicken is actually tender. You always overcook chicken." Thanks, Davey. Anyway, everyone liked it but we all thought the sauce needed more balance, it was just too sweet. When I make this again I think I'll add some chicken stock to the orange juice. Also, some salt is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Really excellent- 4*'s because I had to tweak. First, the recipe does need salt. I added about 1/2 tsp. to the flour and pepper mixture. Second, I added about 1 tsp. sugar to the orange mixture per other posters. It did add a nice sweetness to the tang of the capers. Because of this tweaking, it was fabulous- but without a little salt and sugar, I know it would be less than stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was so good! We thought the sauce was perfect, not too sweet or tart. It was great with rice. The only problem was that I didn't want to stop eating! :0)Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is one of our weeknight staples, we make it all the time. Tonight we had it with steamed asparagus. Yum!!! Do be sure to add salt to the flour mixture. I've recently discovered that I'm allergic to gluten, so I made it with rice flour and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Cook time was perfect: Very tender, and moist chicken. Capers & zest add a nice touch of tartness to the orange. Surprisingly tasty considering the lack of herb and spice ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Photo by NBONO
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delicious. Based on several reviews, I marinated the chichen in a white wine / OJ combo and I decreased the zest to 1 teaspoon. The results were very tasty! I've attached a photo which doesn't do the dish justice. I will definitely make again and I will try for a better photo next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBONO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Surprisingly good and easy to make. I'm 13 and this is what I make for dinner when my parents would like a brake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I had some trouble getting the chicken cooked throughly without burning it. Taste was fantastic with refried beans and pico for a fresh Mexican twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caseypoo
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent dish - made it just as stated and it was great. Served it with Arborio rice and green beans - my husband wants to know when I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseypoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States