Orange Caper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe, but in need of some improvements. I followed the recipe to a T, including the cooking time, using the juice of the oranges I zested, with a little Tropicana added since I didn't quite have enough. I thought the cooking time was a little long, and as another reviewer mentioned, it was difficult to keep the chicken from burning. My main criticism of the recipe is the amount of zest... do you really need a tablespoon? It gave the dish too much bitterness. If I make it again, I will cut it down to a teaspoon. Also, I would probably use brined chicken or marinate the chicken beforehand, in Mojo or some orange-based solution, as I feel it could have really used that orangey flavor throughout the whole breast. Thanks for an interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Although I loved this chicken recipe, I think the recipe is bit bland. I also added sugar to the orange juice. I also added one table spoons of Lavender and orange rind to the flour mix. This adds a slightly sweet taste to the chicken, but use sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious and ssssoooo easy. I used trader Joe's frozen chicken breast tenderloins. I threw them in a large plastic bag with the flour and pepper then just cooked them a little longer. My picky kids loved this combination. They don't like strong tastes (bbq sauce, hot sauce, etc.) but this had a nice mild flavor! Thanks for a nice, easy dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
We all enjoyed this recipe. I did find it necessary to add some sugar to the orange juice, as without it is was a bit sour and salty from the capers. That was not a reflection on the recipe, just the type of juice I used. I mention only so you keep that in mind that some sweetener, sugar, honey etc may be needed as your taste dictates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Great! Finally a recipe from this site that I actually liked. Definitely will make this again--very well written recipe. Serve with rice or pasta, broccoli, cauliflower, or asparagus and pino grigio--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
It was excellent! I added the touch of brown sugar that one reviewer suggested. Oh wow. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The adults enjoyed this dish but the kids didn't care for the orange sauce. I followed the recipe exactly except for using a little corn starch to thicken the sauce up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I like the mix of oj and capers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I didnt care for this recipe. I personally am not a fan of capers and the sauce did not turn out very appetizing. Perhaps I did it wrong, but I didnt care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Great combination of flavors. Next time I will cook chicken in oil alone and add the butter after chicken is removed to keep it from burning. I had to clean pan before making sauce due to burned butter; but put fresh butter and oil back in pan, added OJ and reduced as directed then added the capers. Husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States