Orange Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wonderful taste. I halved the recipe without a hitch. My pineapple had been drained for other purposes, so I replaced the liquid with Sprite, actually. I also used vanilla soy milk for the buttermilk. I added about a teaspoon of white vinegar to the mixture, which is a trick that works on regular milk. Hopefully the same is true for soy milk so this was perfectly authentic. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made this for Christmas dinner, using lime jello, and topping it with chopped and drained maraschino cherries.Beautiful dish for Christmas dinner. Looked really festive, and got rave reviews from kids and adults!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow! Really good with mandarin oranges too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I make a similar recipe with apricot jello and no added sugar and it's great. So leaving out the extra sugar should work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is attractive and tastes good, but it didn't wow me. The buttermilk is an interesting addition and gives a nice tang, and the pineapple adds some texture. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very easy to make and great flavor. A wonderful refreshing treat for the 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
sorry... no one liked it. I followed the recipe to a T - took it to potluck and there was plenty leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LettersToElijah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Quick and simple but very sweet. I wonder if the sugar could be eliminated?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was a hit with all of our family and friends at my dughter's birtday party- even those who do not like jello concoctions loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very tasty and it looked nice,it was my first jello salad attempt. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States