Orange Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
A perfect salad to please everyone. It always fits the occasion. I have made it many times. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Just for fun I poured mixture into empty orange halfs and garnished each top with 2 manderine orange slices and mint leaf.Makes nice individual servings when you have a large gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I make this often, only substituting two cans of drained mandarin oranges. I call it Creamsicle Salad. I always get requests for the recipe. My dad fell in love with it and started making it for friends and family gatherings and all the people who try it fight over the leftovers! EDITED LATER: Oh. And I forgot. I add a bag of mini marshmallows, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Although this recipe takes several steps to prepare, it's well worth the time. We loved it! It's definitely a keeper. Next time I might try another flavor jello just to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This is an unusual combination of ingredients but OMG is it delicious! A great way to get kids to consume buttermilk - you can't taste it at all! You gotta try this one!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I use lowfat buttermilk to reduce the fat , omit the sugar and use sugarfree jello to cut the calories. I add 2 cans of drained mandarin oranges and occasionally change the flavor of the gelatin. My family loves it made with lime, lemon or pineapple also. YUMMY! No one suspects it is buttermilk giving it the rich texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow! Really good with mandarin oranges too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made this for Christmas dinner, using lime jello, and topping it with chopped and drained maraschino cherries.Beautiful dish for Christmas dinner. Looked really festive, and got rave reviews from kids and adults!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wonderful taste. I halved the recipe without a hitch. My pineapple had been drained for other purposes, so I replaced the liquid with Sprite, actually. I also used vanilla soy milk for the buttermilk. I added about a teaspoon of white vinegar to the mixture, which is a trick that works on regular milk. Hopefully the same is true for soy milk so this was perfectly authentic. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I make it (without nuts) when someone in my family is sick. It's the perfect comfort food along with homemade chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States