Orange Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I used 1 tbsp Splenda and 1 tbsp sugar, sugar-free orange jello, low-fat buttermilk & whipped topping plus I added an 11 ounce can (drained) of mandarin oranges. Turned out pretty good. Tends to separate into 2 layers- the lower half is basically orange Jello and the top half that when partially frozen really is quite a bit like a creamsicle. Calculating by the total calories of everything that went into making it and dividing that by the 12 approximately 2"x2"x3" squares I cut it into came out to about 125 calories apiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My grandmother used to make this with strawberry jello and you know, I have never thought of using a different flavor! I am so glad I saw this! We do it a little easier though. No added sugar, just boil pineapple and juice and add jello, remove from heat, stir in whipped topping and buttermilk and let set in fridge. Just for those of you who are like me and need to do it all at once and forget about it! Thanks for posting Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We enjoyed this cool and refreshing salad on a warm day! The only change I made was to use one cup of buttermilk versus two. I placed salad in an 8" x 8" dish, chilled and cut into squares. Thanks Diane A. for sharing your easy and delicious recipe here on AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We really enjoyed this! I added a can of drained mandarins as suggested by reviewers and used Splenda instead of sugar. After it was completely set, we put it in the freezer until it was really firm (but not completely frozen and hard)---it was sooo good that way. Will definitely make again and will continue to keep it in the freezer and take it out an hour or so ahead to let it thaw somewhat before serving. Thanks so much for this tasty, low cal dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
awesome the kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Quite tasty! Makes a big bowl. Leave out the extra sugar - it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Quick and easy Jell-o salad to put together. It is very versatile in that you can change Jell-o flavors or use mandarin oranges in place of the pineapple. This time I made it as written, but have also made with other flavors. It is a great recipe to make if you have buttermilk to use up. Thanks Diane for a delicious salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I have never made this one but I do have one that I make with buttermilk that has cool whip,buttermilk, instant french vanilla pudding and drained pineapple and mandarine oranges. I love it!! So easy to make. I also use shortbread cookies and crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner as a side dish/desert. It was a hit. Everyone sat around trying to guess what was in it. No one imagined that one of the ingredients was buttermilk. So easy to make. The family loved it and I will definitely make it again. The combinations of Jello and fruit are endless. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is really easy to make. I was looking for something different for Thanksgiving, so I used cranberry jello with the pineapple and added about 1/2 bag of marshmallows. It was really good! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States