Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Help! I'd love to make this recipe -- but, how can I make it vegan? What is a proper substitute for egg and margerine in a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Very good, nice orange flavor, not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
for those who didn't think it had much orange flavor, try using 3 teasp. orange extract. also next time I will try adding 3/4 cup coconut and 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This recipe was such a surprise. I did not expect it to be as good as it is. It's a keeper and a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The smell was wonderful and it looked really nice but we just did not like the taste. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
When I made this I had the eggs and the orange juice room temp and warm water not hot. Put all the liquid ingredients in first. Made the yeast rise very well. Had a wonderful flavor and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This bread turned out great. I reduced the flour to 3 1/4 cups. Instead of baking in the machine, I set it to dough, breaded the bread and baked in the oven. I also made a powdered sugar glaze with a little orange juice and about a tsp orange zest. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I really liked this. Made some changes...used 1 1/4 cups orange juice (no water) fresh squeezed; used canola oil instead of margarine; used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups all-purpose flour; and 1/4 cup honey instead of sugar. There was no light orange color -- but I suspect the whole wheat flour masked it. Lightly tangy, a hint of orange, tender...it made the best french toast I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I omitted the orange zest since I didnt have any on hand and the recipe turned out well. Has a very mild orange flavor. I was hoping for abit more of an orange taste but possibly with the orange zest added it might be more flavorful. All in all tho I was pleased with the turnout and would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this on 2/6/05 and used reconstituted orange juice, reduced the sugar to 3 Tbs., the salt to 3/4 tsp., the jarred orange zest to a scant 2 Tbs., and the yeast to 1½ tsp. Did add 1 tsp. of water to the mix cycle as it was just too loose, and another 1/4 tsp. to the knead cycle at the beep. It turned out very good, but a bit mild on the orange flavor. Next time I would delete any water in the original mixture, use 1-1/3 cups orange juice, and use the whole 2 Tbs. of jarred orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States