Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
One of my favorite bread recipes. I make it in my bread machine. Perfect for French toast. Have your fresh butter ready when this is done... you won't be able to resist a hot slice with the melted butter !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelMalone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
On it's own: probably about 3 stars. This could be my fault as I assumed that in using fresh oranges for the zest, I should be using those oranges for the orange juice listed in the recipe. I think that (gasp) bottled orange juice would be better in this bread, as my loaf did not have any sweetness, very little orange color, and the zest left a somewhat bitter taste (yes, I was careful not to use the pith) very similar to a homemade orange marmalade. The bread does smell divine while baking, and is DELICIOUS as french toast the next morning. Also, sliced and toasted with butter and honey is definitely 5 star, so I've split the difference and given this unique recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made this in the evening to use for breakfast the next day. I liked this as French toast, but not sure I would want it any other way. I used two whole oranges and made juice out of them in the Blendtec - no water. I think this would make delicious orange-cinnamon rolls as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This bread was very easy to make, and almost raised the top of the bread machine when baking! :) Next time I will probably transfer into a loaf pan and bake in the oven to make it prettier...but just because it wasn't pretty doesn't mean it tasted anything less than great!! I followed the recipe, with the exception of using 1 cup Simply Juice OJ and 3 tsp. Penzey's minced orange peel (because I had no fresh oranges). I should have probably used more, but this was very refreshing and not a normal sandwich bread. The best part was that I followed previous reviewers' comments and used this to make french toast this morning and it was awesome! I will definitely be making this again. Tastes like a bakery bread, perfect to "show off" to your family or friends. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Wonderful bread. I love oranges and now I'll have a great recipe to use up my oranges from my orange tree in the back yard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I had too many oranges and decided to try this. It's a good bread--nice and light for breakfast, slightly sweet. I used 1-1/4 fresh squeezed OJ (and omitted 1/4 c water), and substituted one cup of wheat flour for one cup of bread flour. We'll make this again when we have extra oranges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Baked up nice and big. Very tasty and fluffy. I was hoping for a more "dense bread," but was not disappointed with these results. It just wasn't what I wanted at the time. Especially delicious toasted with a bit of butter and cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I think this recipe has the potential to be better than it turned out for me. I think the problems I had with it were my own fault. I didn't have bread flour, and I wanted to make it healthier, so I used whole wheat flour and some all-purpose flour. I used 1 and 1/4 cups of orange juice, no hot water, as someone else recommended. I think that was a mistake, my loaf didn't rise, I think the hot water is essential to activating the yeast. The orange flavor was good though. My loaf wasn't all the way done either, I should have used the whole wheat bread setting, since I used wheat flour. If you follow this recipe exactly as outlined, it probably turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I've made this bread several times now. It is simply delicious. I substituted the hot water for orange juice (didn't warm it), and replaced the orange zest with a 4 oz. container of orange rind/peel. The orange rind really gives the bread a wonderful orange flavor and texture. This recipe is defiantly a keeper and is oh-so-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Help! I'd love to make this recipe -- but, how can I make it vegan? What is a proper substitute for egg and margerine in a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States