Orange Blossom Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Wow, I was hesitant to try this because it was not yet rated but I am so glad I did! I made a couple of changes, not because of the taste, but I was making it for my Aunt who loves chocolate and orange together. I made it as the recipe states and added some grated Terry's Chocolate Orange on top of the cake layers and garnished the top with chocolate orange sections and mandarin sections. You could go a step further and use chocolate cake instead of the angel food cake but nothing says spring like angel food cake so i used it anyway. What a refreshing dessert and a nice change from the traditional trifle i have to make my husband since he is British. Great recipe!!! I wish we had taken a picture but it was eaten up so fast I didn't get a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Egmondville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was easy to make and rather fun to put together, not much work for such a great tasting dessert that my family loved. Just made my second one for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jay, Maine, USA
Living In: Harmony, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very yummy!! Very pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was a big hit at our Easter dinner. Used Cool Whip, added fresh raspberries and used more orange juice in the mix. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this trifle for Easter dinner for my family. Everyone really enjoyed it and commented on the nice orange flavor. I will make this again but cut down on the sugar as I thought the custard was too sweet. Also instead of fresh whipped cream I used cool whip. Worked great! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I made this for a ladies' gathering. It was well received, and one lady asked for the recipe, but while it is a nice recipe, it just isn't orang-y enough for me. I am considering trying it again and either adding some orange extract to the "custard" or perhaps using the OJ in a more condensed form. I used real whipped cream, and it wasn't overly sweet. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This trifle was only O.K. I even added some chocolate in the recipe as some other readers recommended and it still wasn't anything anyone liked or asked for seconds. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe but I made instant vanilla pudding and added orange extract to that, then added that into orange juice egg mixture. It disappeared in one day so I know it was well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very good! I used 1/4 cup of orange juice concentrate - just the right amount of orange flavor. I also grated dark chocolate on both layers. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I wish that the recipe would specify that the Orange juice was concentrate, and not just juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Jacob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States