Orange Blossom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by olgaS
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I added 2 teaspoons of orange gelatin to pie filling to make sure it will not run. I blended filling after i added butter to it and it gave it smooth texture,before it was kind of grainy. I used wheeped topping insted of heavy cream.overall very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this pie for a pot luck at my mom's last week. It was a huge hit. After reading all the reviews I made the following changes I used a home made graham cracker crust. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch disolved in about 1/4 cup of water to the mixture on the stove to be sure everything thickened well and did not turn runny when it came out of the refridgerator. Because I was a little short on time, I used Cool Whip instead of whipping fresh cream. I used orange slices fresh from the tree on top with ribbons of zest. It was a beautiful pie and was eaten up quickly. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great summer dessert. Perfect for a pot luck dinner or barbeque bash. It's fresh, tangy and light and quite easy to make. I like it with Nilla Wafers but I prefer to use Pepperidge Farm Chessman Cookies as they don't go mushy and are really pretty on the pie. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I experimented with this recipe. Made it as per recipe. Like others I thought it could have more body. So I played with it a little. Found that if you added 1/2 small package sugar free jello to cooked mixture and the other half to the heavy cream and I used 2 cups heavy cream instead found it to be alot in crust but , when I make pie.... I want Pie not a tease of sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used a homemade cinnamon graham crust and a large, very WELL drained can of mandarin oranges instead of fresh. I didn't stick mine in the freezer. Mine went right into the fridge until dinner, as others suggested. Very creamsicle-like, which is wonderful. NOTE: Want a firm pie, let it cool in the fridge for a bit before serving. I made mine in the morning and let it set until dinnertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We love this recipe! We have made it several times, word for word followng the recipe, and it always comes out great! The key to not getting a runny pie is DO NOT FREEZE! As I said, we have made it several times, and it was always a perfect consistency, creamy and fully set. We always chilled it in the refrigerator. The last time I made it, it was last minute to bring to a cook-out. I was worried about the timing and being outside, so I froze it for a couple of hours before going. By the time dessert came around, it had thawed, and it was very runny. It was the only time I froze it, and the only time it came out runny. So, I think the key is, chill either to room temperature or in the fridge. An experienced cook at the bbq told me that dairy breaks down when frozen, so that's probably what happened, it is probably a problem with the cream. We've also tried a few variations that worked out really well - sub lemonade for oj and fresh raspberries for orange slices for raspberry lemonade smoothie pie, or mango puree for oj and any tropical fruit (bananas, mango slices, or stick with oranges) for fresh fruit garnish. I'm making one for a start-of-summer pot-luck at the office tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IndianaAnna
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This pie turned out creamy, light, and delicious with just a few changes I have listed below. When made correctly, the filling should be thick enough right away when you finish making it. I will make this pie again! Here are my changes: I only used 2 eggs because 3 eggs seemed like a lot. I used the juice and zest from an entire navel orange. That is about 1 tbsp. zest and 1/2 cup juice. I added a tablespoon of flour to the mixture that I heated on the stove so that it would thicken really well. I cooked and stirred, cooked and stirred until the mixture was very thick, added the butter, and then chilled that mixture for about an hour. I used a Pillsbury pie crust instead of the type listed in the recipe because I have a lot of them in my freezer. I used mandarin orange segments, well drained for the bottom. For the whipped cream, I whipped it to stiff peaks and added some vanilla and honey for additional sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndianaAnna
Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very unique and refreshing, though rich. Doesn't travel well, and may be better served nearly frozen. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
It tastes really good, but it's far too runny, and really doesn't present well. I was going to use it for a potluck, but I think I'll feed it to the boy and choose a different recipe and make it last minute. It's just not very table-presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I used mandarin oranges and had no problem with the pie being runny. I did make it the day before, so it was in the fridge about 18 hrs. Everyone who tried it said it was good , hubby really liked but I thought it needed something. I also used crushed vanilla wafers, butter and sugar for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States