Orange Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
The Orange Banana Smoothie delivers: it tastes pleasantly of orange and banana; and if banana were a color, I would call the delightful pale hue banana-orange. I had only softball-sized navel oranges on hand and so, wishing to avoid creating Orangey McOrangerson's Orange-Fetish Delight, I used only one. I assumed one of these mutants was about the size of two standard oranges and, anyway, it's a breakfast smoothie and nobody's handing out beauty prizes at 6:30 in the morning. When I wake up more, however, I shall give this smoothie a silver medal (my favorite avocado smoothie got the gold) and add it to my standard repertoire. Caveat: yes, it's a little "stringy." Might be because real oranges are stringy. You cooould use pulp-free OJ - or just deal with it: fiber's good for you and, unless your oranges are more like the Juggernaut than mine was (which isn't possible), it's not only bearable but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I don't recommend it to anyone it was too stringy and gross you could hardly taste the banana I would make it with 3 or 4 bananas and 1 or a half of an orange and I would also use the Christmas mandarin oranges and use 2 of those but 1 or a half of the big oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Only one of the few recipes that give me confidence in putting whole oranges in smoothies.... I skipped the ice and salt, use 2 bananas and 1 orange... (will try 2 oranges and 1 banana next time) and a very yummy, thick and tasty smoothie was born! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It's good,but instead of ice, freeze yer oranges. Rest the oranges in hot tapwater a few minutes, then peel easily and section them. A little nuts, or grapenuts, or milled flaxseed is good. I don't use yogurt, but use milk+orange juice. I use less sugar. Frozen bananas make my blender work too hard. A mini-pinch of baking soda helps tame the sourness. And a splash of vanilla extract is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was an OK recipe. The orange was stringy so I had to chew that part and I hate chewing smoothies. If I make this recipe again I will use orange juice instead of of oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. I left out the sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I enjyoed this a lot! I didn't have any yogurt, so I substituted by adding some vanilla to the milk and ice cubes to thicken it up a bit. Plus I cut the sugar. Great vitamin c and potassium drink for a quick meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love smoothie's for breakfast and the combination of orange and banana is wonderful, however I tweaked the recipe to my tastes. I froze my banana and used orange juice vs. a fresh orange. I left out the salt and used a bit more ice. I used less milk and more yogurt to make it thicker and cut back on the sugar. Overall, very good but you do need to play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is good as is. I wanted some zing so I added frozen cranberries...pretty good change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I make a lot of breakfast smoothies, but I like them thick. I knew the amount of liquid vs. frozen was going to produce a really thin smoothie; my banana was even frozen. I have a whole bag of sweet, juicy oranges, so I was glad to find a recipe that used the whole orange. My blender is really strong, so I had no issues with the orange being stringy. I added a bit of protein powder and ground flax. I loved it, but next time I will use WAY less milk and more ice. Oh, and I left out the sugar since my fruit is so sweet. I even added the salt, can't detect it though so next time I'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States