Orange Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
The reason I'm writing a review is to tell other people who are unfamiliar with these cookies (like I was) to not be disheartened when they first look at the dough. The cookie does firm up after a day in the fridge and it does end up being a very tasty cookie. Although unusual. It is a no-bake cookie but in this case that doesn't mean it's not time consuming to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for years. I first came across it in a magazine in 1971. It called for crushed pecan shortbread cookies (Pecan Sandies) rather than graham crackers or vanilla wafers. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These are absolutely delicious! I wanted to try something new for the holidays and boy am I glad that I did! Easy to make (though it does take some time to crush up all those nilla wafers!!) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Love these! My Grandma has made these all my life and I look forward to them every year! Tip : Put the vanilla wafers in your food processor to grind them up... saves a lot of time. Also stick dough in the fridge for awhile then use a melon scoop and they are all the same size and your hands don't get as messy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I typically do not alter ingredients and then rate a recipe, but i just had to try adding 8 oz of cream cheese to this, and I am glad I did! Here is what I did. ...I could not figure out for the life of me why in the world this recipe would need FOUR cups of conf. sugar, and then I figured the reason for that was because it had to sweeten the 6 oz of OJ concentrate. So instead I only used about 3 oz OJ and only ONE cup of conf sugar and it turned out GREAT! Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated, except I added 8 oz of room temp cream cheese. These were also really good without the OJ in them, just the crushed cookies, cream cheese and the sugar...YUM! Next time I will make them like that and dip them into white chocolate. Try adding cream cheese, you won't be sorry---just make sure it is room temperature so that it "folds" into the cookie crumb mixture well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is a recipe from our childhoods-DH & I both remember these as Christmas cookies, but they make a great, cool, very sweet treat in the summer, too. I use confectioners sugar and/or finely chopped pecans to roll them and chill the mixture, then use a small cookie scoop to form the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are my new favorite Christmas cookie! I have also tried them with frozen lemonade and that is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great cookies. I added 1 T orange extract, then added only enough concentrated orange juice to sufficiently moisten for easy handling. I mixed the pecans into the dough, eliminated the coconut, then rolled into balls and place on cooling racks. Let dry overnight, then drizzle with melted chocolate! before placing into tiny paper cups. Wow, my family loves these cookies. White, or milk chocolate may be used. I like them both. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FairBecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious. First time I did as directed, but second time I forgot to put the butter in, and actually they did better, and I really like the taste better without the butter. Thanks for a new Christmas tradition cookie here :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was so easy! One helpful hint-my grocery store does not carry the small 6 oz cans of frozen OJ. I thawed the 12 oz OJ in the fridge and then measured out 3/4 c. of the concentrate. It mixed up just right! I saved the remainder for a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States