Orange Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I typically do not alter ingredients and then rate a recipe, but i just had to try adding 8 oz of cream cheese to this, and I am glad I did! Here is what I did. ...I could not figure out for the life of me why in the world this recipe would need FOUR cups of conf. sugar, and then I figured the reason for that was because it had to sweeten the 6 oz of OJ concentrate. So instead I only used about 3 oz OJ and only ONE cup of conf sugar and it turned out GREAT! Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated, except I added 8 oz of room temp cream cheese. These were also really good without the OJ in them, just the crushed cookies, cream cheese and the sugar...YUM! Next time I will make them like that and dip them into white chocolate. Try adding cream cheese, you won't be sorry---just make sure it is room temperature so that it "folds" into the cookie crumb mixture well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These are delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe. When I made my second batch, I used my grandmother's cooking secret -- I added a shot of brandy to the mixture. The brandy enhances the flavor - myself, my family, and my friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GngrCarol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
OH WOW! I'm glad I waited to review this....I tasted these right after making them and the orange flavor was a bit too much for me BUT then I tried another after sitting in the refrigerator overnight and it was PERFECT! So I would suggest preparing a day in advance for the ultimate results. I also would recomend letting the batter chill before forming into balls as they fall apart. The next time I make these I will also try coating these in a simple glaze instead of rolling in sugar or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chic Lil Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
My mom made this recipe when I was a little girl and totally forgot about it. I loved it but she could never remember what I was talking about. I was so excited to find this recipe and I'm glad I did. I got carried away and acidentally added a 12oz can of OJ and had to scurry to make a double batch, lol. I'm glad I did though b/c it went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful cookie. My mom used to make these for us at Christmas and we just gobbled them up and now I make them for my family and have the same results, lol. A great addition to a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious. First time I did as directed, but second time I forgot to put the butter in, and actually they did better, and I really like the taste better without the butter. Thanks for a new Christmas tradition cookie here :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was so easy! One helpful hint-my grocery store does not carry the small 6 oz cans of frozen OJ. I thawed the 12 oz OJ in the fridge and then measured out 3/4 c. of the concentrate. It mixed up just right! I saved the remainder for a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didn't much like these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great cookies. I added 1 T orange extract, then added only enough concentrated orange juice to sufficiently moisten for easy handling. I mixed the pecans into the dough, eliminated the coconut, then rolled into balls and place on cooling racks. Let dry overnight, then drizzle with melted chocolate! before placing into tiny paper cups. Wow, my family loves these cookies. White, or milk chocolate may be used. I like them both. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FairBecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was going to submit this recipe but realized it was already here. My grandma makes these every year and now I do too. Something a little different for your Christmas plate and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States