Orange Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was so easy! One helpful hint-my grocery store does not carry the small 6 oz cans of frozen OJ. I thawed the 12 oz OJ in the fridge and then measured out 3/4 c. of the concentrate. It mixed up just right! I saved the remainder for a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I typically do not alter ingredients and then rate a recipe, but i just had to try adding 8 oz of cream cheese to this, and I am glad I did! Here is what I did. ...I could not figure out for the life of me why in the world this recipe would need FOUR cups of conf. sugar, and then I figured the reason for that was because it had to sweeten the 6 oz of OJ concentrate. So instead I only used about 3 oz OJ and only ONE cup of conf sugar and it turned out GREAT! Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated, except I added 8 oz of room temp cream cheese. These were also really good without the OJ in them, just the crushed cookies, cream cheese and the sugar...YUM! Next time I will make them like that and dip them into white chocolate. Try adding cream cheese, you won't be sorry---just make sure it is room temperature so that it "folds" into the cookie crumb mixture well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious. First time I did as directed, but second time I forgot to put the butter in, and actually they did better, and I really like the taste better without the butter. Thanks for a new Christmas tradition cookie here :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
The reason I'm writing a review is to tell other people who are unfamiliar with these cookies (like I was) to not be disheartened when they first look at the dough. The cookie does firm up after a day in the fridge and it does end up being a very tasty cookie. Although unusual. It is a no-bake cookie but in this case that doesn't mean it's not time consuming to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
My mom made this recipe when I was a little girl and totally forgot about it. I loved it but she could never remember what I was talking about. I was so excited to find this recipe and I'm glad I did. I got carried away and acidentally added a 12oz can of OJ and had to scurry to make a double batch, lol. I'm glad I did though b/c it went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Love these! My Grandma has made these all my life and I look forward to them every year! Tip : Put the vanilla wafers in your food processor to grind them up... saves a lot of time. Also stick dough in the fridge for awhile then use a melon scoop and they are all the same size and your hands don't get as messy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is my great aunt Eleanor's recipe to the letter! (Although back then it was just 'one box' of wafers, 'one box' of sugar). It's so easy and tastes so yummy! I've also tried rolling them in chocolate sprinkles as well, also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful cookie. My mom used to make these for us at Christmas and we just gobbled them up and now I make them for my family and have the same results, lol. A great addition to a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
OH WOW! I'm glad I waited to review this....I tasted these right after making them and the orange flavor was a bit too much for me BUT then I tried another after sitting in the refrigerator overnight and it was PERFECT! So I would suggest preparing a day in advance for the ultimate results. I also would recomend letting the batter chill before forming into balls as they fall apart. The next time I make these I will also try coating these in a simple glaze instead of rolling in sugar or coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chic Lil Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These are delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe. When I made my second batch, I used my grandmother's cooking secret -- I added a shot of brandy to the mixture. The brandy enhances the flavor - myself, my family, and my friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GngrCarol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States