Orange Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
The reason I'm writing a review is to tell other people who are unfamiliar with these cookies (like I was) to not be disheartened when they first look at the dough. The cookie does firm up after a day in the fridge and it does end up being a very tasty cookie. Although unusual. It is a no-bake cookie but in this case that doesn't mean it's not time consuming to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These are absolutely delicious! I wanted to try something new for the holidays and boy am I glad that I did! Easy to make (though it does take some time to crush up all those nilla wafers!!) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I received these no-bake cookies as a hostess xmas gift along with the recipe. They are melt in your mouth delicious! My kids raved over them too! A refreshing and different cookie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for years. I first came across it in a magazine in 1971. It called for crushed pecan shortbread cookies (Pecan Sandies) rather than graham crackers or vanilla wafers. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I found it! My late grandma made these every Christmas. I am sure this is the recipe she shared with me once. These little orange balls have a sweet tangy bit that are WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Adams Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but they turned out super mushy and wouldn't solidify no matter what I tried. They were also too sweet, even for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was going to submit this recipe but realized it was already here. My grandma makes these every year and now I do too. Something a little different for your Christmas plate and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great cookies. I added 1 T orange extract, then added only enough concentrated orange juice to sufficiently moisten for easy handling. I mixed the pecans into the dough, eliminated the coconut, then rolled into balls and place on cooling racks. Let dry overnight, then drizzle with melted chocolate! before placing into tiny paper cups. Wow, my family loves these cookies. White, or milk chocolate may be used. I like them both. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FairBecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didn't much like these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was so easy! One helpful hint-my grocery store does not carry the small 6 oz cans of frozen OJ. I thawed the 12 oz OJ in the fridge and then measured out 3/4 c. of the concentrate. It mixed up just right! I saved the remainder for a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States