Orange Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Please don't forget those seeds, when you cut the squash in half spread the seeds out on a piece of foil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, paprika onion and garlic powder and bake them along with the squash anbd in 5 minutes you'll have a little snack wile you're cooking the rest of your meal...they go great with an ice cold beer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I loved the hint of orange taste and the easy preparation of this dish; however, I had to fill the hole with something so I diced two macintosh apples and tossed them with the orange sauce and then placed them in the squash. I cut the baking time of the sqash to 30 min and then baked the squash and apples together for 30 min. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was really tasty. I didn't have OJ concentrate so I just used regular OJ. I cut the cooking time down by partially cooking the squash in the microwave and then finishing it up in the oven with chicken that I was baking.This would be a great holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe was very good but very sweet. I found adding soy sauce balanced out the sweet with a salty taste. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I completely enjoyed this recipe. It is an ingenious idea way to get squash past your kid's plate. It worked. I did combine two recipes, however. This one and "Acorn Squash with Apple". So I peeled and sliced the squash and simmered it with apple and the orange sauce. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Everyone loved it! Personally, I thought it had too much nutmeg, but I will definitely make it again, but I'll use 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg instead of 1 teaspoon. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Should add orange peel to punch up flavoring. When reheated and mashed with butter and brown sugar is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Didn't have a strong orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I was so looking forward to this based on the ratings but to be honest, the orange was overpowering. Did not enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimmyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
OK. I used honey instead of brown sugar. Maybe that's why mine wasn't great. Also I had to cook my squash for more than an hour in a gas oven and they still weren't very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States