Orange Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious, and so easy! Even my picky 3 year old liked it. This was very sweet, but the orange flavour was not overpowering. Am going ot try stuffing the sqash next time with garbanzo beans, carrots, celery, and onion, and we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
It was so good it could have been a dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I loved the hint of orange taste and the easy preparation of this dish; however, I had to fill the hole with something so I diced two macintosh apples and tossed them with the orange sauce and then placed them in the squash. I cut the baking time of the sqash to 30 min and then baked the squash and apples together for 30 min. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Don't say no until you know. This is a wonderful side dish served with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Please don't forget those seeds, when you cut the squash in half spread the seeds out on a piece of foil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, paprika onion and garlic powder and bake them along with the squash anbd in 5 minutes you'll have a little snack wile you're cooking the rest of your meal...they go great with an ice cold beer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I completely enjoyed this recipe. It is an ingenious idea way to get squash past your kid's plate. It worked. I did combine two recipes, however. This one and "Acorn Squash with Apple". So I peeled and sliced the squash and simmered it with apple and the orange sauce. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I liked this, but my family was not too impressed. I served this with couscous and added some squash marinade to tie the flavors together. That was great!This would be good with some curry powder, plain yogurt and sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was my first time making any king of winter squash, It turned out totally wonderful! I used a sweet dumpling squash instead of the acorn squash, and used regular orange juice. I filled the squash with the sauce mix and after the squash finished backing, I reduced the sauce over low heat, and then drizzled it over the squash. It was totally wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mascotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I am not a huge fan of acorn squash, but wanted something different to make for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved this glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
OK. I used honey instead of brown sugar. Maybe that's why mine wasn't great. Also I had to cook my squash for more than an hour in a gas oven and they still weren't very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States