Orange-Avocado Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Had to fudge the ingredients a bit, but this was so good! I used plain white vinegar in the dressing, adding a little extra brown sugar. I didn't have curry powder, but the dressing needed the extra kick so I added a teeny bit more soy sauce and a little bit of chili oil. I also replaced mandarin oranges with chopped up fresh naval oranges (just as sweet!). I didn't have grapes or red-leaf lettuce, so I just used plain lettuce instead, and added some boiled eggs that I happened to have. The Mr. completely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I also only added 1/2 teaspoon curry and soy sauce. I think next time I might add the whole teaspoon. I liked the flavor! I also just had an urge to add some red onion to this recipe. So, I added a little less than 1/4 of a red onion sliced very thinly. I had requests for the dressing at the gathering I attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Growing up I was never known to put fruit on my dinner salads but I am learning more and more every week how much I love it. And this salad really hits that spot. Personally I think this salad was better with walnuts rather than almonds. Other than that it was delicious, thanks Janis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made this for a party just as written except I had to use red seedless grapes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I used fresh mandarin orange sections, 1/2 avocado per serving, and toasted slivered almonds, all placed on a bed or torn lettuce & spinach. I used a half teaspoon curry powder and a half teaspoon soy sauce in the dressing. This was sensational! I will try it with grapes but it was so good just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I MADE THIS LAST THANKSGIVING AND IT HAS BECOME A NEW HOLIDAY TRADITION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Great salad! I made a few minor tweaks like using baby mixed greens instead of the spinach and lettuce, red grapes instead of green, adding a couple sliced mushrooms. I also substituted the vegetable oil for olive oil in the dressing. Next time I might reduce the amount of oil and increase the amount of cider vinegar, or perhaps try using balsamic vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
hubby LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVARNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This salad, especially the dressing is excellent. I didn't use quite the amount of curry powder or soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States