Orange-Avocado Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Had to fudge the ingredients a bit, but this was so good! I used plain white vinegar in the dressing, adding a little extra brown sugar. I didn't have curry powder, but the dressing needed the extra kick so I added a teeny bit more soy sauce and a little bit of chili oil. I also replaced mandarin oranges with chopped up fresh naval oranges (just as sweet!). I didn't have grapes or red-leaf lettuce, so I just used plain lettuce instead, and added some boiled eggs that I happened to have. The Mr. completely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I also only added 1/2 teaspoon curry and soy sauce. I think next time I might add the whole teaspoon. I liked the flavor! I also just had an urge to add some red onion to this recipe. So, I added a little less than 1/4 of a red onion sliced very thinly. I had requests for the dressing at the gathering I attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Growing up I was never known to put fruit on my dinner salads but I am learning more and more every week how much I love it. And this salad really hits that spot. Personally I think this salad was better with walnuts rather than almonds. Other than that it was delicious, thanks Janis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made this for a party just as written except I had to use red seedless grapes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I used fresh mandarin orange sections, 1/2 avocado per serving, and toasted slivered almonds, all placed on a bed or torn lettuce & spinach. I used a half teaspoon curry powder and a half teaspoon soy sauce in the dressing. This was sensational! I will try it with grapes but it was so good just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I MADE THIS LAST THANKSGIVING AND IT HAS BECOME A NEW HOLIDAY TRADITION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Great salad! I made a few minor tweaks like using baby mixed greens instead of the spinach and lettuce, red grapes instead of green, adding a couple sliced mushrooms. I also substituted the vegetable oil for olive oil in the dressing. Next time I might reduce the amount of oil and increase the amount of cider vinegar, or perhaps try using balsamic vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
hubby LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVARNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This salad, especially the dressing is excellent. I didn't use quite the amount of curry powder or soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States