Orange and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Whoah, Nellie, this soup was much better than I expected! I used coconut oil, since I had the Costco vat of it, instead of butter. I then used a large sweet onion and I skipped the celery, because I am a kitchen mucker who just peruses my current food supply and takes off on a nightly dinner adventure, and I am sans celery. I didn't puree the soup. I prefer the bit of chunkiness of carrots and onion bits, and it was soft, tasty, and pure comfort. It didn't even need salt to be perfectly delicious. Thank you for my new lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Tasted great! I added garlic and didn't blend everything, just half. I should have added all chicken broth while lentils cooked (dried out fast), then added the rest of the carton of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This soup is the best! I always make at least a double, if not triple recipe. I have added spinach or kale to it and it is wonderful. I substitute veggie broth and evoo for a perfect vegan meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I liked it a lot. The flavor was great. I'm knocking it down a star because my daughter didn't like the flavor at all, and she's not a picky eater, and she loves lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I have been meaning to write a review for this recipe for quite awhile. I have made this soup many times and it is always a favorite. I usually add extra carrots and make it in a crockpot. Another yummy variation is to add barley and skip the blending at the end. Works fine with veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is was interesting! Hubby liked it, I thought it had an interesting flavor. I think it cooked have cooked a little longer as the celery was still quite crunchy. I added a little salt, some more thyme, and a splash of half and half. I doubled the recipe to make leftovers for the week, and we still only got 4 servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great combination - I was a little concerned that it would have too much of an orange flavor but the recipe calls for the perfect amount. Easily vegetarian or vegan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was perfect. The flavor was quite different from other lentil soups I've had and was a very pleasant surprise. I made this just to use up some leftover red lentils I'd used in another recipe, so I'm pleased to have accidentally found a keeper! My husband, a devout meat-eater, enjoyed this very much (although he did add some crumbled bacon to his portion, which was actually a really nice addition). My 9 month-old son ate his portion enthusiastically, too. I had to give this 5 stars for the ease of preparation, too. Anything that can be made in one pot in 40 minutes, with only about ten minutes of that 40 requiring me to actually be in the kitchen, is a real winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
So good! My kids ate it too. I used green lentils instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very GOOD and easy to make. I tried this soup at a local coffee shop with some hesitation because I had no idea what it would actually taste like. It has a marvelous blend of flavors. I asked the owner for the recipe and she told me it came from here. I've made it a couple of times now and find I do like the texture better when I puree it rather then using my immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States