Orange Almond Biscotti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I bake quite often and recognized the flour was excessive for the amount of liquid in this recipe. I used about a cup less flour. If you do this, I think you’ll like this recipe very much. Be sure to add the orange zest for a light and fresh tasting, buttery, and crisp biscotti. A simple icing of confectioner’s sugar and fresh orange juice drizzled over the biscotti dresses it up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. They are great with morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe! I did change the amount of flour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingLove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Read the comments of others and have these suggestions... Decrease the flour to 2-1/2 to 3 cups (depending on the humidity since the flour will absorb moisture). The orange peel isn't optional if you want that flavor and to heighten the almond add 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. These turned out delicate when firts out of the oven but with the second baking they became a very nice biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These are the BEST biscotties. Everyone raves about them. I have made them numerous times and they never stick around for very long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
first time making biscotti, turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I didn't have orange or almond, but I used this recipe as a base. I added cranberries and vanilla instead. The biscotti was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Dough was too dry. I added an extra egg and a teaspoon of milk. Turned out heavy and dense but had a good flavor. Will try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I made biscotti with a similar recipe, except I used 2 cups of flour, cut salt to 1/4 tsp., 4 tbsp of butter and used added 2 tbsp. orange zest PLUS minced orange meat (not optional). I also added Grand Marnier and Almond Extract for a more adult flavor. This will guarantee a slightly more moist and fluffier consistency. It really is a good recipe, the amounts of the ingredients are just off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I was a bit disapointed. The dough was so dry, when mixing, I had to add a third egg. (All my other biscotti recipes with the same amount of dry ingreds call for 3 eggs) By then, it was a little late for the extra egg and my biscotti were quite heavy textured. The orange was a nice flovour, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States