Open-Faced Crab Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These made were a delicious, quick weeknight dinner. I loved the addition of horseradish, and I even added a little Frank's Red Hot for some extra "zing". Perfect! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very Good! Especially since I used fresh dungeness crab. I omitted the tarragon and used alot less mayo. Just enough to moisten and added some minced scallions. I toasted the english muffins buttered them and topped with crab. Broiled a couple of minutes to warm the crab and get rid of some moisture. Then I topped with a good amount of freshly shredded sharp cheddar and jack cheese. Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Having a crabber hubby and always looking for new crab recipes, I tried this new recipe.I used to just put crab on a muffin and broil cheese. It was boring, so I looked up these recipes. I subbed the tarragon for a dollup of horseradish and YUMMY! soooo good! Will be serving these as an appetizer before our big Xmas dinner with family. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I make a similar recipe. I slice up cheese, then a tomato. To add more flavor, I add worcestershire sauce, a dash of hot sauce, cocktail sauce and cream cheese. Then I top the split english muffin with a slice of cheese, the tomato slice, and top it with the crab salad mix. Then I bake it until the cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this was very delicious. i added some minced garlic and put it on a french roll. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Oh, were these good! I added some hot sce, horseradish mustard and a little sour cream/mayo combo. Topped with tomato and mixed greens with provolone chz instead of cheddar! I gobbled down an extra half! -I used lite whole wheat english muffins for the extra fiber! Thanks for the idea for canned crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is the best tasting crab melt recipe I have ever tried and it is so easy. The ingredients are things I already have on hand. If you really want to impress someone make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Outstanding lunch! I split 2 english muffins and lightly toasted them (warmed them up), spread some Mayo, light coating of creamy horseradish topped with crab. Put in broiler for 90 seconds, covered with sliced pieces of pepper-jack cheese, back to broiler for 2 min or until cheese melts and lightly brown! WOW! One the second english muffin and omitted the horseradish and sprinkled the top of the crab with Old Bay seasoning. Same times followed by pepper-jack cheese and this too was fantastic. Next time (tomorrow lunch) I am going to go for BOTH the horseradish and the Old Bay seasoning! Can't wait! Wayne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walt Wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I thought this was a quick, simple recipe and one that, as the originator said could be used for any occasion from a teaparty, shower to an unexpected luncheon guest. I like to have something in the house that I can whip up if that unexpected guest shows up around lunchtime and this definitely fits the bill. I will use it again, both for company and myself. I am a crab lover. The only modification I made was to use 8 oz of crab because I had some fresh Phillips crab on hand and it came in that quantity. I prefer fresh but I bought a can of crab to keep on hand for unexpected guests. I always have the remaining ingredients on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These were pretty good, nothing too spectacular. I wanted to add a bit of horseradish but did not have any, I think that if I added just a bit it would pep this up. I will say that I enjoyed that this was a nice, easy compliment to a bowl of soup for a quick weekday dinner. The only alteration I made was that I used two cans of crab, I'm not sure why so many recipes on this site call for so little crab in recipes, but this ended up providing the consistency I was hoping for. I did not change any of the other ingredient proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States