Open-Faced Crab Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These were pretty good, nothing too spectacular. I wanted to add a bit of horseradish but did not have any, I think that if I added just a bit it would pep this up. I will say that I enjoyed that this was a nice, easy compliment to a bowl of soup for a quick weekday dinner. The only alteration I made was that I used two cans of crab, I'm not sure why so many recipes on this site call for so little crab in recipes, but this ended up providing the consistency I was hoping for. I did not change any of the other ingredient proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Tarragon actually overwhelming, as was the pepper, maybe if you double the crab it would be OK. But I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Having a crabber hubby and always looking for new crab recipes, I tried this new recipe.I used to just put crab on a muffin and broil cheese. It was boring, so I looked up these recipes. I subbed the tarragon for a dollup of horseradish and YUMMY! soooo good! Will be serving these as an appetizer before our big Xmas dinner with family. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I thought this was a quick, simple recipe and one that, as the originator said could be used for any occasion from a teaparty, shower to an unexpected luncheon guest. I like to have something in the house that I can whip up if that unexpected guest shows up around lunchtime and this definitely fits the bill. I will use it again, both for company and myself. I am a crab lover. The only modification I made was to use 8 oz of crab because I had some fresh Phillips crab on hand and it came in that quantity. I prefer fresh but I bought a can of crab to keep on hand for unexpected guests. I always have the remaining ingredients on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I make a similar recipe. I slice up cheese, then a tomato. To add more flavor, I add worcestershire sauce, a dash of hot sauce, cocktail sauce and cream cheese. Then I top the split english muffin with a slice of cheese, the tomato slice, and top it with the crab salad mix. Then I bake it until the cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this was very delicious. i added some minced garlic and put it on a french roll. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Oh, were these good! I added some hot sce, horseradish mustard and a little sour cream/mayo combo. Topped with tomato and mixed greens with provolone chz instead of cheddar! I gobbled down an extra half! -I used lite whole wheat english muffins for the extra fiber! Thanks for the idea for canned crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Way too fishy tasting . Did not like at all and neither did my husband. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is the best tasting crab melt recipe I have ever tried and it is so easy. The ingredients are things I already have on hand. If you really want to impress someone make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These made were a delicious, quick weeknight dinner. I loved the addition of horseradish, and I even added a little Frank's Red Hot for some extra "zing". Perfect! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States