Open Face Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This sandwich was pretty good, but I used sun dried tomatoes packed in olive oil for more depth of flavor, and only used one-half tablespoon of olive oil after that. Overall, a good classic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great sandwich. Fresh ingredients - use ripe pomodori - and you'd never know the bread was a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wonderful sandwich that's quick, easy and delicious! I used a loaf of Italian breaf. I toasted the bread in the broiler first, salted the tomatoes in order to get the water out of them and added a little cracked black pepper. I didn't bother putting this in the oven but enjoyed this with just the bread being toasted. I cut in into sections and wow - excellent without a ton of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Delicious and refreshing dish. The only thing I would do differently is maybe chop up the fresh basil to be sprinkled and used sparingly. I love Basil but this is a strong dose of it as a whole leaf on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I just love tomato and cheese sandwiches. Didn't have a whole tomato so I cut up a handful of salad/grape tomatoes to cover a piece of whole wheat bread. Used shredded mozzarella cheese, fresh basil, 1/4 tsp each of EVOO and balsamic vinegar. This is so light and heavenly. These would also be great with a slice of provel cheese. I will be making these again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Quick and tasty. I used french bread and added sun dried tomatoes for depth along with the fresh tomato. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was good! My reasoning though for only 4 stars is because the tomato put directly on the bread made for soggy bread...even when toasted. Luckily I used a nice hearty piece or it would have been inedible. I would say mozzarella first. Flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is also great with roasted red peppers! Or a little bit of fresh garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Mendez
Home Town: New Providence, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This would make an awesome panini sandwich! Same ingredients-just add another slice of bread and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
We have eating a version of this a long time. But first, toast bread and rub raw garlic on it while it is still warm. 1/2 Cheese goes on bread first, then tomato, rest of cheese, then basil. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States