Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Munch Meister
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My family loved these. We ate two each right off the bat, but my tummy wished I'd only had one, what with all the dough and sweetness. This recipe was fairly simple and fun too, but a long haul, what with having to rise the dough for a total of two hours. If you need cinnamon rolls, and you need them now (!), then a recipe without yeast will satisfy sooner. But if you want the real, ooey-gooey thing, then take the time with the dough as required. I had left over melted butter in the end as using two whole tablespoons on the outside of the roll prior to baking was not needed, nor stuck to the roll. I agree with MNDiana, who suggests brushing on softened butter, rather than melted butter, and will try that next time. I used walnuts and raisins instead of pecans, and found the 375 temp a little too high as my outside rolls got a little too brown and crusty in just 22 minutes, but the inside rolls were perfect. Lastly, the filling on the bottom of the pan cools to a candy-like state quickly and is hard to remove from pan onto the top of rolls after baking without it being clumpy, so make sure to tip them out onto another dish (after loosening the edges with a butter knife) after just a minute after removing from oven, and leave the tray upside down for a couple more minutes to let the filling fall onto the buns. This will coat the buns evenly and prevent it from hardening onto the bottom of the pan before you can scrape it all off onto the buns! Merry Munching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munch Meister

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, my daughter and grandson just love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was my first time making cinnamon buns and they turned out great! MY family loved them. The dough did not rise but I put it near a a cup of hot water and it worked. I have never tried better cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
doubled the carmel sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Delicious! Even better with cream cheese frosting on top! I had to work, so i made the dough in the morning and let it rise for about 5 hours; then when I rolled and cut them I let them rise again before baking for about 4 hours. They were so fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I always end up making these cinnamon rolls because the other recipes require a bread machine or instant pudding mix or mashed potatoes. I really appreciate that this recipe only calls for standard ingredients and tools. These cinnamon rolls present beautifully, and the topping is really gooey caramel. Everyone raves about these. Me, I'd prefer them to be a little more cinnamon-y and a little less caramel-y, but they're still quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
i have made this recipe several times and it's always been a hit around here. they didn't dry out and were so good.. i am going to try adding a bit more caramel sauce as we like it with more. these buns never last for more than a couple of days.. they are gone so fast.... hubby always asks me to make some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The only thing that wasn't exactly as expected was the gooey topping -instead of a gooey sugary topping, it became a caramel topping (that even hardens like a Halloween candy anywhere that pooling has occurred, though a quick microwave loosens it up again). The dominant caramel flavor was not what I was expecting, though from several other comments mentioning it this seems to be what others sought, so I assume I did follow the directions correctly (I went over them thinking I must have done something wrong, but it seems that I did everything exactly as expected). The rolls were simple perfection. I will just try to adapt this for a non-caramel topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My husband has talked about his mother's cinnamon buns for years. She passed away long before I met him, so I've been trying to find a recipe that matches his childhood memory. This recipe is spot on. I make some cream cheese icing on the side because I prefer it and he's happy without. This is a great recipe. Going to make some tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was the first time I ever made cinnamon rolls and have to admit I was very nervous. (I've never had luck working with yeast). I followed the directions to a T and they came out beautifully. My family loved them and said they should be made frequently! I used a serrated bread knife to cut the rolls and had no problems. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States