Ooey Goey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Ok, these are great tasting bars! I did cut back on the powdered sugar like the other reviews said, to about 2 1/4 cups, and added 2 Tbls of lemon juice, the fam loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Easy and SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Be sure to bring copies of this recipe wherever you are serving it! I always get asked for this recipe. It is so quick and easy but tastes like gourmet! More like Blondies then cake. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I was so disappointed. I had read many of the recipes similar to this and thought it sounded wonderful. It was very easy, but ended up just a too sweet, dry brownie-like bar. I had thought it would be more moist and cheesecake-like. I had to be sure to serve it warm to even get it out of the pan. Not 'goey' but pretty ooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This is great, kinds sweet for my taste but my family loved it. I doubled the recipe and made two and took it into work. They loved it as well. I took the advice from another post and added blueberries and cut the sugar in half. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Oh my God this is sweet!!!!!!!!!! My grandparents and the kids all LOVED it but its a tad too sweet for me (and that's saying something). I love it but I can only eat a wee little bit at a time. I have requests to make this again already! Thanks Kenneth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I send in breakfast goodies on the weekends that my husband works and this was today's fare. I changed the recipe to make it a little more "breakfasty" and the staff said this might have been the best thing I sent in during the 6 years that he has worked there!! The changes I made were: putting a layer of blueberry pie filling between the cake layer and the cheese filling, and I decreased the sugar (based on other reviews) to 2/3 cup white sugar. I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to the cheese filling and garnished it with lemon zest. I wish I could have tried a piece but my husband said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
C'est Bon!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMS1901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This was WAY too sweet for us to even enjoy. I'm a huge fan of sweets but this was overkill, in my opinion. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Last Halloween, I went to a party and my friend's mother made this. She called it "That" cake because her kids always said, "I want some of that." I have been looking for the recipe and here it is. I also discovered that it is also called Texas Gold Bars. Yummy. Everyone needs to have this recipe in their files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States